OnlySound – S/T

I really don’t know or care or, to be really frank, mind where Rock is heading. From where I’m standing rock aesthetics as an expression of the youth is dead. On the other hand, its bastard and undesired child Heavy Metal is alive and well. As I said before, I guess the only escape to rock is to look for its past. We’ve been receiving many bands that emulate the good old days of rock here. It’s so that the last Rock wave was in the early 2000 with bands as Kings of Leon, Kaiser Chiefs, The White Stripes and The Strokes. Well, I don’t for any of them as you may notice. Allmof them with no exception had as main drive the retrorock attitude using lots of features of the great bands of the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s.

Ok, then, but OnlySound have nothing to do with it. In this sophomore album, the band does a mix of the Blues Rock of the late 1960s and early 1970s with some features of the Rock of the same time. The outcome is a very energetic album though the Blues influences which sometimes makes the fan think that all the songs must have that slow and cadenced tempo, but in fact, it is a wrong concept. “OnlySound” is also a travel through time and through influences. “Slummer,” for instance, will make the Kiss fan remind of one of the their most underrated albums, “The Elder.” To be real truthful, one of the things that sparked my attention the most in “OnlySound” is the diversity of moods that it shows the fan. The other thing is the raw atmosphere that the guitar playing has. It is paradoxal, but naive guitar playing is also as attrative as the prowess in the instrument. I guess that some sloppiness is desire in a Rock album. But the energy that tracks as “Peaches” and “XX Bottom” pass is amazing. The same can be told about the title track “The Only Sound” with its  tango mood and slow tempo with sharp guitar interventions. The following track “Beelzebub” everything is changed. A mood full of echoes and a shoegazed but martial cadence take over the scene. For the ones who knows the track reminds a lot early The Cult efforts. They make me have hope in the future of Rock.

OnlySound “S/T” was self-released on February 22nd.

Track Listing:

  1. Potshot
  2. Peaches
  3. Slummer
  4. Ascension
  5. XX Bottom
  6. The Only Sound
  7. Beelzebub
  8. Fix It Up
  9. Lookout Kid
  10. Hand Me Down Roses
  11. Kirstie Alleycat
  12. Synapse

Watch “Beelzebub” alive video here: