Philosophobia – Philosophobia Review

Sometimes the intricacy and complexity of a band and an album tricks the most talented and experienced reviewer. Though I agree this shouldn’t happen if I had payed more attention to the album tittle which is exactly the name of the band. Intricate and complex. By the way, Philosophobia means a fear of love — can negatively affect your ability to have meaningful relationships. A painful breakup, divorce, abandonment or rejection during childhood or adulthood may make you afraid to fall in love. Hum, I and the band are in the same page. Yeah, that’s right, but one can never be right, isn’t it?

The music in “Philosophobia” is complex. A prog Metal that sometimes gets too much Prog than Metal to suddenly get back tomore Metal than Prog in the same tracks. Well, that’s what album opener and kick off “Thorn in Your Pride” tells us. The track insanely goes from one ot another without any expectation and that’s great. Some may say the major influence is Dream Theater. It might be though I’m no expert in the band. But my vote goes to Maryllion. The neat vocals is the first catch to the fan. Domenik Papaemmanouil’s vocals are neat and cool. The guy varies his voice a lot during the songs giving them a personality. It sounds as if he was choosing the perfect line for each part of the song. That’s the impression I get. Then comes following track “I am” which changes everything I wrote here. The Iron Maiden touch is in here in the guitar phrases though it also reminds me of the great and unknown Leatherwolf. Again vocalist Domenik Papaemmanouil wins the day showing that he can sing any part in any Metal song. As I said before, “Philosophobia” is complex though I completely forgot to say varied. “Time to Breathe” changes all the scenario again delevering the fan a sweet though intense mood. The track is shorter than the others but the fan can get the message. When I was almost saying that “Between the Pines” had the same vibe, the track has a change of heart going from a ballad to a harsh and heavy track. Maybe to get the idea of what is to be between the pines. If the fan doesn’t pay close attention to the vocals the impression it gets is that it may be from another band. Or album.

It’s great when the week has so many surprises. “Philosophobia” is one more of them. A Dream Theater without all the nose upsand elitism.

Philosophobia “Philosophobia” will be released on June 24th via Sensory Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Thorn in Your Pride
  2. I am
  3. Time to Breathe
  4. Between the Pines
  5. As Light Ceased to Exist
  6. Thirteen Years of Silence
  7. Voices Unheard
  8. Within My Open Eyes

Watch “Between the Pines” official video here: