Powerwolf – The Metal Mass: Live

6598905  Many people don’t enjoy live albums because they’d prefer more new content as in another studio record. I’ve never understood that. I can get wanting more stuff from a band you enjoy like any other music fan, but other additions to a band’s discography such as live albums are just as worthy of being listened to as studio records. Bands like Powerwolf are perfect for live albums because their well known energy and high levels of awesomeness in their performances can be translated to such that you can feel like you’re in the midst of this massively ridiculous concert even though you’re in your car stuck in traffic on your way to your s**t ass job. That’s exactly what Powerwolf’s upcoming live album, “The Metal Mass: Live”, is in a nice little nutshell. This recording brings together some of the best of the best of Powerwolf’s magnificent catalogue in 16 songs performed with such energy that even if you’re not paying close attention to call this piece anything less of a real metal experience would be a f**king insult. Then it’s the fact that even though Powerwolf speak in their native language of German in between songs (note: I don’t speak German because I’m an American scumbag) and you can just feel the energy flow from the band into the very enthusiastic crowd, the good will brimming from the laughter at some good ol’ high brow humor, and the excitement from the fans as they shout “Pow-er-wolf!” at the end of a set only to cheer for an encore near the end of the set. All of that brought together sums up to a magnificent time that comes from what could be regarded as one of the best live bands of today. Bringing together classics like “Sanctified with Dynamite” along with more recent epics like “Army of the Night”, Powerwolf prove with “The Metal Mass: Live” that they are one of those bands that must go on any list of essential metal bands to see live.

“The Metal Mass: Live” releases on July 29th! You can pre-order the album via iTunes here.

Track Listing:

  1. Blessed & Possessed
  2. Coleus Sanctus
  3. Amen & Attack
  4. Cardinal Sin
  5. Army of the Night
  6. Resurrection by Erection
  7. Armata Strigoi
  8. Dead Boys Don’t Cry
  9. Let There Be Night
  10. Werewolves of Armenia
  11. In the Name of God
  12. We Drink Your Blood
  13. Lupus Dei
  14. Sanctified with Dynamite
  15. Kreuzfeuer
  16. All We Need Is Blood