Q5 – Steel the Light

In the search of the real deal sometimes we have to go back in time. That’s what producer Bart Gabriel and No Remorse Records are doing these days. Q5 with “Steel the Light,” which was originally released in 1984, is one more chapter of a nice series of reissues we hope won’t end. This reissue contains two CDs: one with “Steel the Light’s”original nine tracks, and another with “The Rare & Unreleased” as it’s called.

Q5, besides being the band of Floyd Rose – yeah, the guy who invented the locking tremolo system device everybody uses these days -, are one of those bands that we can’t understand why things weren’t different. The band represents a very dear moment of heavy metal bands in the 1980s which is the passage of more raw and fiercyful bands to bands with a more emotional grip. Of course, some of them lost track of it and became too emotional, if you know what I mean. But not Q5“Steel the Light” shows a band that sometimes seems to be looking for a personality, but in most of it know what they are doing. Assuming a more melodic line of vocals and great guitar parts, Q5 are a remarkable band. We can feel it by the opening track “Missing In Action” with a frantic riffing and uptempo cadence. Next track, “Lonely Lady” keeps the faith with a more cadenced tune with beautiful guitar phrases. Title track is also a great tune and still keeps the faith.

“Pull the Trigger” and “Ain’t No Way to Treat a Lady” have a strong taste of AC/DC’s seminal album “Back in Black.” But it would be natural due to vocalist harsh voice. But that’s all, Q5 went back to first proposal of a more melodic metal with some touches of hard rock.

Q5 “Steel the Light’s” reissue will be released on July 16th via No Remorse Records.

Track Listing:

Disc 1 “Steel The Light” album

  1. Missing in Action
  2. Lonely Lady
  3. Steel the Light
  4. Pull the Trigger
  5. Ain’t No Way to Treat a Lady
  6. In the Night
  7. Come and Gone
  8. Rock On
  9. Teenage Runaway

Disc 2 “The Rare & Unreleased”

  1. That’s Alright with You (Steel the Light 12″ Single B-side)
  2. Nothing Ventured – Nothing Gained (Demo 1984)
  3. She’s a Dancer (Demo 1984)
  4. Ain’t No Way to Treat a Lady (Demo 1984)
  5. In the Night (Demo 1984)
  6. Waiting for Your Love (Demo 1984)
  7. Teenage Runaway (Demo 1984)
  8. Our Love Has Come and Gone (Demo 1984)
  9. Your Love Is The Best Love (Unreleased Demo 1983)
  10. Ain’t No Way to Treat a Lady (Live Seattle 1983)
  11. That’s Alright with You (Live Seattle 1983)
  12. Steel the Light (Live Radio Broadcast Seattle 1984)

Watch “Steel the Light” official video here: