Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame 2023 Inductees Announced, IRON MAIDEN And SOUNDGARDEN Snubbed Again

Bruce Dickinson

The 2023 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees have been officially announced, featuring RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE, Sheryl Crow, and Willie Nelson among the selected nominees. However, artists like IRON MAIDEN and SOUNDGARDEN were once again overlooked in the hard rock and metal categories.

The current year’s inductees primarily lack heavy music representation, with RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE being the sole group most would strongly associate with hard rock or metal. The ever-growing array of talent is a result of the Rock Hall’s deliberate effort to broaden the concept of rock music, following years of criticism regarding their annual choices. Considering that the Rock Hall defines rock music as “a sound that moves youth culture,” it is not restricted to specific genres, thereby creating a fresh perspective for music enthusiasts to appreciate new inductees such as Kate Bush, Sheryl Crow, and Missy Elliott.

All 2023 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees are as follows:

Performer Category:

Kate Bush
Sheryl Crow
Missy Elliott
George Michael
Willie Nelson
Rage Against the Machine
The Spinners

Musical Influence Award:

DJ Kool Herc
Link Wray

Musical Excellence Award:

Chaka Khan
Al Kooper
Bernie Taupin

Ahmet Ertegun Award:

Don Cornelius