Satanic – Architecture of Chaos

Extreme metal bands are the trend now. There’s no doubt about it. I’ve written that zillion times here. The opening track of this Satanic “Architecture of Chaos” is just amazing. “Mephistophelian” is a thrilling combination of old school heavy metal instrumentals with a helish vocal. The outcome is something fresh and cool. “Mephistophelian” is a great example of how an opening track should be. In general they are supposed to be the best, or at least one of the best of the album. That happens because people have to be caught in the first hearing. There’s not enough time nowadays to captivate the fan.

But don’t go thinking that Satanic’s intent was only that. “Architecture of Chaos” is a varied album. The motto is, of course the combination I told before, but Satanic had the care of mixing tempos and cadence of songs. One thing about the guitar is that Mr. Guillaume Petit uses a lot of guitar squeaks as in the 1980s, the biggest inspiration to Satanic. And the thing I like most is the clear distortion, so we can hear, and understand, all guitar phrases. His guitar playing is absolutely rooted on the amazing old school metal traditions. Simple, clean, but it gets intrincated as in “Armageddon.” Hearing to it makes me feel so unreal.

“Architecture of Chaos” is not exactly a travel in time, but a combination of times. “Systematic Fear” is a song that combines modern and ancient guitar techniches with some double bass drumming that brings it to another level of awesomeness. The feeling is 1980s, but there are lot of touches of modernity in it. Satanic are a band of principles which go untouched throughout “Architecture of Chaos.” The intent is to be the sickest possible without loosing the understandable meaning. It means that a band must be understandable to their fans, not simply a mass of inaudible sounds.

Satanic’s “Architecture of Chaos” is inspiring. It brings you to a new level of awesomeness, even though playing some real old school death metal. Maybe that’s the secret of Satanic.

Track Listing:

  1. Mephistophelian
  2. World Of Chaos
  3. Processing The Undead
  4. Architecture of Apocalypse
  5. Armageddon
  6. Systematic Fear
  7. Biotech Warfare
  8. Tchernobyl 86

Satanic’s “Architecture of Chaos” was released on September 1st via Brutal Records.

Watch “Processing The Undead” official video here: