Saxon – Thunderbolt

 A trend that I’ve noticed in metal is how too many people love to throw around the word “legendary” when describing a band. Just because your band has been around since the 90s doesn’t make them legendary, it may make them notable at the very least but unless they’re a well-known and well-respected name for metal it’s not legendary. Saxon, though? They’re legendary! Being around for over fifty years (including performing under different names) is nothing to scoff at, and even though you might expect a sharp downward trend in terms of album quality, Saxon has kept things consistently amazing. Should you have a single doubt then “Thunderbolt” is an album you’ll need to hear immediately.

Right from the very beginning of hearing the title track, you can tell instantly that “Thunderbolt” is an album straight from the past as Saxon continues to bring the true, original flame of heavy metal to life more than ever. With the melodies, power, theme, and attitude that’s befitting for everything to do with classic heavy metal, Saxon brings a wondrous performance with their 22nd studio album that does much more than cement their names a very small group of heavy metal acts that have been able to produce so much f**king content and keep the energy flowing like water. “Thunderbolt” from start to finish encapsulates everything that draws people into heavy metal to begin with from the sheer enjoyable power that Saxon naturally brings to the table, the insane melodies and anthems that are brought to life in exquisite detail, an attitude that’s all but infectious, and a passion that eeks through every single aspect of “Thunderbolt” to make it an album that’s not only true to original style but also incredibly fun to listen to.

Time has no meaning to Saxon as they continue to lay down delicious heavy metal one record after another, and “Thunderbolt” is a true testament to the long-lasting spirit that this band has as well as the fiery passion that they have for their music. You’d think going for over five decades would slow the band down, but Saxon is still going extremely strong and this record is more than enough proof that anyone could need when they say that true warriors of heavy metal never throw in the towel. Such dedication and passion shine through in “Thunderbolt” to make it a potent album like very few albums of its kind in modern times.

“Thunderbolt” releases on February 2nd, and you can pre-order the album via iTunes here.

Track Listing:

  1. Olympus Rising
  2. Thunderbolt
  3. The Secret of Flight
  4. Nosferatu (The Vampire’s Waltz)
  5. They Played Rock and Roll
  6. Predator
  7. Sons of Odin
  8. Sniper
  9. A Wizard’s Tale
  10. Speed Merchants
  11. Roadies’ Song