In Shadows and Dust – A Fleur de Peau

In Shadows and Dust are a one-man project band and this “A Fleur de Peau” is their third effort. It is impressive how many efforts like this we have been receiving. Of course, it is a product of the low-cost technology that got near to most. But I have giving a lot of about it. Is that all? Or are people getting tired of working with other people? Is it a guarantee that the outcome will be your exact wishes? I really do not know.

But back to “A Fleur de Peau.” It is a thirty minute invitation to the most destructive and fiercefull piece of death metal. There is really no time to breathe while listening to this twelve tracked effort. Only in the breaks between one track to another. Straight ahead death metal at its purest form. In Shadows and Dust got exactly the soul of how to be extremely direct in terms of music as all twelve songs are within the three minute limit. The musical formula in “A Fleur de Peau” is the simple musical wrath dissolved in furious and sharp guitars with thundering drum blasts played at the speed of light embellished with an insane vocal. Pure extreme metal poetry. Therefore, it is not for every one. Only for the followers of the extreme metal arts.

But the burning question is still on. How to make everything alone? Or better yet, why? It is not up to me to respond this question. I guess In Shadows and Dust mastermind can do it better. But I must say that there is a blattant benefit that is the linearity of “A Fleur de Peau.” Each track seems to be connected in the same line of rage and power. Good! Let’s not forget that we are talking about a pure death metal effort. It would take a lot of talk, or quarrel, to do that in a band.

Track Listing:

  1. A Fleur de Peau
  2. Hate
  3. Betrayal
  4. All Is Black
  5. Falling Into Shadows
  6. Slay
  7. Take My Soul
  8. Empty World
  9. Storm of Revenge
  10. Mind War
  11. Guillotine
  12. Black Heart

In Shadows and Dust’s “A Fleur de Peau” was released on December 21st and it was self-released.

Watch “All Is Black” official video here: