Six Feet Under – Torment

Six Feet Under Torment Every single style of music on the entire f*cking planet has a select group of artists that everyone just seems to know about. Rap has people like Eminem, pop has Taylor Swift and other “artists” (let’s not get into that), and so on and so forth, but with death metal, it’s pretty obvious to say that Six Feet Under is one of the top names of the style right alongside other legends. Personally, I’ve never been massive into Six Feet Under but I’ve always held the group and its name in the absolute highest regard. I’ve checked out every single piece they’ve released, and I can say with confidence that their upcoming twelfth full-length record of “Torment” is the one album that has gotten two f*cking thumbs up out of me. What made me think that way, you ask? It’s pretty simple. I’ve always been a fan of the awesome raw power that Six Feet Under always f*cking brings to the table, but it all seems to have culminated to a point with “Torment” where there are plenty of tracks that have a fantastic blend of heavy as f*ck hooks and unrelenting brutality. Every single song I’ve ever hurt of Six Feet Under has always sounded way too generic for me, and that’s a little understandable given the history of Chris Barnes, and it never really appealed to me in a positive way until I heard “Torment” where there seems to have been an extra layer added to the mix that makes the album so much more enjoyable for me. It’s pieces like “Skeleton” that really digs down into your skull, proceeding to take over your entire conscience, and others like “Sacrificial Kill” that have that old school death metal feel to them that, while kind of bland in terms of creativity (let’s be honest), still pack one hell of a punch no matter what angle you look at it from. I can already feel that so many people out there are going to call “Torment” a boring record that’s the same kind of sh*t that Six Feet Under has been dishing out since the f*cking 90’s. That’s only because they can’t appreciate the brutal subtleties that have been sewn into the very delicate and bloody frame of “Torment” that make it has entertaining as it is. Easily the most entertaining album that I’ve ever heard from Six Feet Under“Torment” is a tour of one of the inner circles of Hell the likes of which only the most demented and insane will survive before proceeding to take yet another tour, and I mean that in the best possible way, of course.

“Torment” releases on February 24th via Metal Blade Records! You can pre-order the album via iTunes here and stream the first two tracks on Bandcamp here.

Track Listing:

  1. Sacrificial Kill
  2. Exploratory Homicide
  3. The Separation of Flesh from Bone
  4. Schizomaniac
  5. Skeleton
  6. Knife Through the Skull
  7. Slaughtered as They Slept
  8. In the Process of Decomposing
  9. Funeral Mask
  10. Obsidian
  11. Bloody Underwear
  12. Roots of Evil