Skraeckoedlan – Äppelträdet

The hell of a difficult name! At least the music in “Äppelträdet” isn’t as difficult as the band and album’s name. Though some instrumental passages as of some complexity, the music in “Äppelträdet” is kind of simple as rock/metal should be. Well, not exactly. We do appreciate some complex stuff, don’t we? Songs like “Universe” have a chordal rock riffing and effects that were so common in 1980s bands. Skraeckoedlan are a band with a foot in the 1980s and the other in the 1990s. Some tracks have all that shoegazed pace bands loved in the 1990s. But Skraeckoedlan added a personal touch that is the guitar work which makes “Äppelträdet” a very personal album.

“Cactus,” not the band but the song, has a very interesting guitar sequence and a flamboyant drumming. The drumming in “Äppelträdet” is very old school. Martin Larsson is a drummer that likes to fill all the sound gaps. He’s got heavy hands, some would say. He plays Bill Ward and John Bonham style, which in my opinion is best. I don’t like shy drummers. A full of fuzz guitar also gives the 1970s vibe in songs like “Fagelsang” which has a Sabbath’s taste.

The mix Skraeckoedlan propose is very interesting and, no wonder, pretty modern indeed. There are moments Skraeckoedlan are a doom band, with a lot of sabbatish touches, but as an overall analysis, the band flerts openly with heavy and psychedelic rock. I guess it explains better the music in “Äppelträdet.” Those are the comes and goes music takes once in a while. Ethereal effects take a leading position in most songs as in “Vaerldarnas Fall,” which opens the album. The bass also takes the lead in this track. A stapler of some modern rock bands.

Skraeckoedlan and “Äppelträdet” are good for those who enjoys the echos of the 1970s.

Skraeckoedlan “Äppelträdet” will be released on October 12th via The Sign Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Världarnas Fall
  2. Soluppgång
  3. Chronos
  4. Äppelträdet
  5. Haven
  6. Doedaroedlan
  7. Universe
  8. Cactus
  9. Fågelsång
  10. Rokh

Watch “Äppelträdet” official video here: