SOMALGIA Release Debut Album ‘Inverted World’

Somaglia Band

“Everything is backwards, everything is upside down. Doctors destroy health, lawyers destroy justice, psychiatrists destroy minds, scientists destroy truth, major media destroys information, religions destroy spirituality and governments destroy freedom”

On Inverted World, SOMAGLIA present a psychedelic interpretation of a dystopian reality set in a world not unlike our own. The album covers an eclectic range of influences and genres from black metal, trip-hop and folk to progressive and psychedelic rock.

Lyrically, Inverted World follows a young man’s journey through an awakening process in which he struggles to come to terms with the nature of reality, falls down endless conspiracy rabbit holes, battles addiction, consumerism & technology overload and ultimately understands what it means to be an outsider in a backwards world.

Tom Collins and Ryan Stevenson (ZOPP, RULUM) are the living men that created the album. Tom states “SOMAGLIA was initially a solo project of mine that I’d been working on since 2018, Ryan came into the fold in late 2020 when I asked him to mix the album. He ended up taking 6 months to completely rework the album into what you hear today.”

Ryan adds, “Tom and i both share a love for many different artists and find the idea of genre boring today, so we naturally threw all sorts into the final mix from the beginning of the process. This meant that I had plenty of artistic freedom when it came to producing and helping with the song writing; by adding mellotrons, 808 beats, guitar solos and much more, we ended up crafting an album that sounds truly post-genre!”

Inverted World track listing:

1. God is Dead – 2:58
2. Recalcitrant – 3:52
3. Wonderland – 7:20
4. Consumer – 2:53
5. The March of Tyranny – 7:20
6. Dear Rulers – 5:23
7. Final Utterance – 5:13

Somaglia Inverted World