Somniate – The Meyrinkian Slumber

Some drummings still have the ability of impressing me. I vastly appreciate the effort of many drummers who try to ally technality with the raw talent of smashing the drums at large. In all subgenres of Metal music there are drummers who do a great job in, but, in fact, it seems that Extreme Metal drummers do a better effort to punch them with a regular fierce. This is the case here with Somniate “The Meyrinkian Slumber” whose drummer’s name I couldn’t manage to find.

It’s an intent and purpose of each Metal band in this sad and lonely and pathetic little planet of bringing the chaos down to Earth. In the case of Extreme Metal band this intent is brought into its highest level and kind of easily achieved in terms of music. “The Meyrinkian Slumber” celebrates the musical chaos by the aforementioned killing and assassing drumming, by the contrast of delicate texture and ferocius guitar riffing and passages, and the death growls on vocals. In this album the fan will find the alternation of sweet and delicate passages with hazardous and bloody instrumentals that brought the chaos on Earth indeed. To begin with first track “The Sleepless Stone” shows everything Somniate got being the true invitation card to all the album. It begins with a rapid drumming and guitar riffing but alternating cooling down moments as the calm before the storm. Despair takes over in all album in a way the fan has to be beware not to go into the mood. Following track “Rephaim” repeats the formula with an angrier punch and grip. It is possible to feel all the anger and wrath the band wants to pass by the enraged and rabid voclas and mesmerizing simple guitar riffing. The outstanding combination of the aforementioned mesmerizing and simple guitar riffing in “In Bone Incorruptible” immediately attracts the fan attention especially when it comes to the gentle and sweet guitar solo that breaks all the dark mooding.

Somniate’s music is a successful mix of Old School Black Metal with modern touches. The raw and the complex go hand by hand in “The Meyrinkian Slumber’s” tracks. Great to all black metallers who appreciate the musical rage presented here.

Somniate “The Meyrinkian Slumber” will be released on June 30th via Lavadome Productions.

Track Listing:

  1. The Sleepless Stone
  2. Rephaim
  3. In Bone Incorruptible
  4. A Penitentiary Triptych
  5. Of Fragrance and Light

Watch “Of Fragrance and Light” official video here: