Sorrows Path – Doom Philosophy

405320  Doom metal has never been my preferred type of metal with me only ever having the opportunity of hearing really good doom metal (ex. Crypt Sermon) and really bad doom metal (none off the top of my head). And thank everything that is sweet and godly, Sorrows Path’s latest album “Doom Philosophy” is one of those good album. While it was just a tad faster than what you would expect from doom metal, Sorrows Path makes it totally work with the smooth vocals mixing extremely well with the perfect paced and heavy guitars alongside the great beat of the drums that makes this whole album feel oddly ominous, and it feels great because of that. It wasn’t the greatest doom metal that I’ve heard before, but it was without a doubt solid from beginning to end as this near one hour long album earns my thumbs up. I strongly suggest “Doom Philosophy” to any person who is thinking about getting into doom, or already into doom, as Sorrows Path has done something that both groups should find very enjoyable.

You can watch the music video for “Epoasis” off of “Doom Philosophy” via YouTube below, stream the whole album via Spotify here, and purchase the album via iTunes here.

Track Listing:

  1. First Beam of Darkness Into Light
  2. Tragedy
  3. A Dance With the Dead
  4. Brother of Life
  5. Everything Can Change
  6. The King With a Crown of Thorns
  7. The Venus and the Moon
  8. Epoasis
  9. Clouds Inside Me
  10. Darkness
  11. Damned (O)fish-L.S.D.