Spiral Skies – Blues for a Dying Planet

Picture a heavier Jefferson Airplane, I mean, heavier com more distorted guitars, some dashes of Black Sabbath, Scorpions, and a lovely female singer whose voice reminds Blondie’s Debbie Harry in her glory days. Got it?

So I present you Spiral Skies, a band that reunited all this and recorded the most inspiring rock effort of 2018. I mean rock, but an open minded heavy metaller will listen to it and find it attractive. Spiral Skies bring lots of Heavy Metal instrumental influences due to their emersion in the world of psycheledic rock, which is one of HM forefathers. What takes the HM down is the vocals far more psychedelic than the usual. But track one, “Awakening,” says otherwise. The unadivised listener will think are a forgotten early metal band from the late 1970s or early 1980s. The guitars have a heavy grip, and use some metal techniques as the guitar duos and long solos. Instrumentals feel like a proto NWOBHM. Heavy Load or Witchfinder General, I presume.

If there are no more exciting rock bands, Spiral Skies invest on taking some influences of the most well-suceeded rock subgenre, which is HM, added to a 1960s sonance. Doing so, “Blues for a Dying Planet” got a little anacronic. It is intended to be a recreation of the good old psychdelic rock days, but its sonance does not fully belong to that time. Well, rock is in the need of a band like Spiral Skies, for sure. “Blues for a Dying Planet” is a nice effort if you care only for the music, not for labels, or genres. It is musically competent, though. Spiral Skies musicians know exactly what they want.

I have reviewed some bands with the same purpose as Spiral Skies. It is healthy to have some guys playing rock again. But make no mistake, musically they sound as grand as early Scorpions like in “The Prisioner.” Looking back, I guess I could define Spiral Skies as a 1980 HM band with Blondie’s Debbie Harry on vocals. No offense at all. I am myself a fan of Blondie.

Spiral Skies will sing their “Blues for a Dying Planet” on May 18th via AOP Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Black Hole Waltz
  2. Awakening
  3. Dark Side of the Cross
  4. The Wizard’s Ball
  5. Danse Macabre
  6. Labyrinth of the Mind
  7. Shattered Hopes
  8. Left Is Right And Right Is Left Behind
  9. The Prisioner

Watch “The Wizard’s Ball” official video here: