STRYPER To Record New Studio Album In 2019

Photo credit: Alex Solca

STRYPER frontman Michael Sweet has told Sleaze Roxx in a new interview that the band will record a new studio album in 2019. The guitarist/vocalist is also planning on issuing the follow-up to his 2016 solo album, “One Sided War”. Other releases in the works include another collection of cover songs from bands that inspired STRYPER and helped to shape the band’s sound and musical identity.

“We have some ideas for songs for the follow-up to ‘The Covering’,” Michael said. “I’d like to do some more [JUDASPRIEST, I like to do another BOSTON song, another [IRONMAIDEN song, something from THIN LIZZY and maybe a STYX song. I’d like to do YESTERDAY & TODAY; they’re now called Y&T. We used to do David Bowie. I’d love to cover something by David Bowie.”

According to Michael, there will also be a new album of re-recorded versions of songs that originally appeared on STRYPER‘s earlier records. “We’re one of those bands that will get to it, but it’s just a matter of time until we make it happen,” he said. “I’d love to record some more ‘classic’ songs with [new STRYPER bassist] Perry [Richardson] playing on them. It’s just a matter of finding the time, but we have to do another ‘The Covering’ album and another re-record, with stuff from ‘In God We Trust’ and a couple things from ‘Against The Law’ and maybe even tap into stuff from ‘Reborn’ and ‘Murder By Pride’.”

Released in 2011, “The Covering” contained STRYPER‘s cover versions of classic songs from SCORPIONSBLACK SABBATHDEEP PURPLEUFO and VAN HALEN, among others.

2013’s “Second Coming” featured re-recorded versions of STRYPER‘s earlier material as well as two new songs.

Formed 35 years ago, STRYPER is the first overtly Christian metal band to go mainstream. The group’s name comes from Isaiah 53:5, which states: “But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.”

STRYPER‘s albums include “To Hell With The Devil”“Second Coming”“No More Hell To Pay”“Fallen” and the band’s latest effort, “God Damn Evil”.