Sumerlands – s/t

a3138946671_10  Who here can honestly say that they all still love the original, classic sound of heavy metal even decades after its first set of glory days? If yea, raise hand. If nay, then sit your ass down and prepare for excellence. New bands rarely ever seem to capture the magnificence of old, but Sumerlands prove to be such a rarity with their upcoming self-titled debut. That’s right, I said debut! I say that twice because listening to this record it’s hard to fathom that something this good – this ridiculously well executed – could come from a band that hasn’t put out a single song, EP, demo, or anything. The eight tracks that Sumerlands crafted are without doubt the epitome of a modern attempt at a modern recreation of the classic heavy metal wonder. The immensely entertaining riffs all come together amongst all the sick beats that are laid down all throughout the record to great a tune the likes of which are monumental to say in the very f**king least. But it’s the vocals that really cut through for me as they’ve got that brilliant psychedelic sound and effect to them that make the music so much more catchy, entertaining, and adds so much flavor into the final product that it’s hard not to approve of it. Unless you’re just f**king stupid, that is. Sumerlands really knew how to appeal to the metal head in all of us marvelously and it shows through every single note that you find within the entirety of this album. If there was going to be any sort of straight heavy metal album that will come out this year that you have to investigate then you must make sure that album was created by the brilliant minds of Sumerlands. Should you not then goddamn you are missing out on what is the surprise of the year for me, personally, and I simply cannot recommend this wonder enough.

Sumerlands” releases on September 16th! You can pre-order the album via iTunes here, and listen to 2 tracks off the album on Bandcamp here.

Track Listing:

  1. The Seventh Seal
  2. The Guardian
  3. Timelash
  4. Blind
  5. Haunted Forever
  6. Spiral Infinite
  7. Lost My Mind
  8. Sumerlands