Summoning – With Doom We Come

The vast and immeasurably detailed world of J.R.R. Tolkien is a piece of work that has and ultimately will stand the test of time, and it’ all thanks to the wondrous devotion of fans across the decades and all over the world. The mythos has permeated music for a long time, and that goes double for metal and it goes f*cking triple for Summoning who seemed to have popularized Tolkien’s work in metal with their splendid fashion. Decades later, it seems hard to believe that Summoning can still perform at such a high level but their latest opus of “With Doom We Come” shows that these gentlemen are far from over when it comes to bringing the epic scope of Middle-earth and beyond to life.

From start to finish, “With Doom We Come” is everything we’ve come to expect from Summoning over the years as they’ve honed their craft down to a f*cking science. Every single one of these tracks brings in elements of the expansive Tolkien mythos from the world-changing events put in motion by Tar-Calion or the harrowing hills that are the Barrow-downs. “With Doom We Come” brings together elements of folk and black metal in such a way that continues to bring forth Summoning’s unique vision of Tolkien’s world that truly shows these guys are still at the top of their game, and able to execute in a manner that further cements themselves as a class act that absolutely must be heard even to today. Despite not having a f*ck ton of melody or riffs that many people tend to gravitate towards, Summoning implements the great display of musicianship and skill that they’re known for in full effect with “With Doom We Come” in order to make this yet another record that’s more than worthy of being added to a landmark discography.

I think it’s safe to say that no one expected anything bad from “With Doom We Come”, and Summoning has definitely proven those people right with an album that’s simply stunning in just about every regard from style to respecting the source material to just being overall badass to the core. Summoning has never shown any signs of slowing down, and “With Doom We Come” is clear proof that these guys still have plenty of fantastic albums to put out before their work is done.

You can purchase “With Doom We Come” via iTunes here, and stream some tracks from the album on Bandcamp here.

Track Listing:

  1. Tar-Calion
  2. Silvertine
  3. Carcharoth
  4. Herumor
  5. Barrow-Downs
  6. Night Fell Behind
  7. Mirklands
  8. With Doom I Come