Suzi Quatro – No Control

Okay, my child of the night. I’ll confess one nasty thing to you. Get ready yourself to the truth.

I confess that I skipped a lot of releases to review this Suzi Quatro “No Control.” I know, I know, shame on me. But, as you know, the flesh is weak for Suzi is one of my heroines. The moment I saw the e-mail with her album I jumped straight ahead to it and I had to review it right away.

Most of you may not know, but Suzi Quatro is the first female bassist to hit the charts and reach greater audiences. All of this in a career that started in the 1960’s when to women everything was prohibited. First of all, Suzi Quatro is a brave. Between 1973 and 1980, she was awarded six Bravo Ottos. In 2010, she was voted into the Michigan Rock and Roll Legends online Hall of Fame. Quatro has sold over 50 million albums. Yeah, we gotta respect the girl.

“No Control” is an album that could have been recorded in the 1970s pre-disco era. It’s a strong rock driven feature with lots of bluesy influences. On the other hand, there are some tracks that are very near the 1980s base, but the real grip is the seventies, there’s no doubt of that. Most of the songs keep that swing that comes from the blues or rhythm and blues. Really, “Love Isn’t Fair” will make you dance the night away even not having the desire to it. “Macho Man” and “Easy Picking” hold the hard rock vibe Suzi wants to show. She has bounced all her career between the hard rock stuff and the more pop driven songs. So, her music is full of strong guitars, pounding drums, pianos, harmonicas and also catchy choruses. Take “Bass Line,” for instance, with an interesting bass solo and a groovy guitar harmony. “No Control” is the kind of album which could have been recorded in the seventies. Of course, having been done by the real deal artist helped a lot. “Heavy Duty” has a warm saxophone solo with a dancing grip as well. Pretty much seventies stuff. But the cherry of the cake is the delicious and groovy “I Can Teach You to Fly” with its catchy guitar harmony and horns section. Even a hardcore Metal Fan like me is caught dancing to this one. Following track “Going Down Blues” has the same horns section, but with a string blues grip.

Suzi Quatro “No Control” will be released on March 29th via Steamhammer / SPV.

Track Listing:

  1. No Soul/No Control
  2. Going Home
  3. Strings
  4. Love Isn’t Fair
  5. Macho Man
  6. Easy Pickings
  7. Bass Line
  8. Don’t Do Me Wrong
  9. Heavy Duty
  10. I Can Teach You to Fly
  11. Going Down Blues

Watch “No Soul/No Control” official video: