TAKING BALFOUR Are at the ‘Dawn of Polaris’

Founding member Noah comments:  

“The most challenging thing about creating a record is of course, what are we going to write about? In the early stages of brainstorming, we decided to take an approach on one of the most debated topics of all time; what it means to be human. This album is a journey, and one that we all buckle up for behind the wheel.  

“Dawn of Polaris” perfectly captures a bumpy ride; the exhilarating rollercoaster each and every one of us has to strap in for. We all are guilty of holding our belief systems so close to our hearts that sometimes we forget to look at the bigger picture. What is the bigger picture? Well, take a listen, you’d be surprised at what you may find.” 

Formed in 2019, the Canadian quintet released their debut self-titled album in 2020. Drawing creative inspiration from old school, nu metal along with progressive rock and metal, TAKING BALFOUR create a wall of sound comprised of powerful percussion, thundering bass and epic guitar riffage, all accompanied by compelling synths and piano. “Echoes” is a beautifully haunting introduction to the album, building up anticipation ahead of the heavy thrills of “Neptune.” A gothic a seductive tone manifests in “Awakening,” while “Lightyears Away” explores contrasting sections of a serene, soaring nature, and high intensity. Blues and funk influences run through “Dawn of Polaris” with “The Jester’s Fool” and “T.O.A.D.” prominently incorporating these musical styles. Each track ventures down a different path of TAKING BALFOUR’s sound, revealing something new at every turn. The convergence of these elements is found in the concluding “Purge of Darkness.” From driving percussion and delicate lead melodies, to immersive atmospheres and an explosive breakdown, this finale goes out with a bang.

TAKING BALFOUR elevate their music by exploring beyond the typical boundaries of metal. Breaking out synthesizers and organ parts alongside the metal instrumentation, the band produce a fiery sound with unceasing impact.

Spencer Gill – Lead Vocals
Noah Anderson – Guitar, backup vocals
Orion Park – Bass guitar
Tim Paty – Drums
Zachary Culp – Keys/Samples

Read our review here.

Sign up to receive all latest news and updates from Metal Addicts straight into your inbox!