The Amorettes – Born to Break

Maybe I am getting too cranky to rock’n’roll. I mean, it’s been a long time that I really do not care about rock’n’roll aesthetics and when I say rock’n’roll I put Metal aside. Rock, to me, is dead. On the other hand, Metal is still alive and kicking. Rock sold his soul to the devil and he came back to charge the debit. The devil took the soul of rock’n’roll and left a copycat. Metal’s soul is still there in hell, where it never left.

The reason I say that because this The Amorettes “Born to Break” bounces to both sides; rock’n’roll and heavy/hard rock. Band names with “The” mean nothing to me these days. They remind me of all sweet sugared things from the 1950’s and 1960’s. Everything that heavy rock and Heavy Metal stood against. Saying that, I noticed that I was getting too grumpy with the ladies and I gave them a day rest. I do that sometimes. A new day, some new ideas.

Well, giving The Amorettes a new shot I got what was annoying me. The two first tracks, “Can You Feel The Fire” and “Hello And Goodbye” are too pop, too standard and plastic. Singer Gill Montgomery’s voice is too Kate Perrish, too sweet to a hard piece of music. But then comes “Everything I Learned (I Learned From Rock And Roll)” to save the day. Really, guys, the song has a hard grip, even with some clapping. Thanks to the guitarist Gill Montgomery. Yeah, she doubles the chores. But shush! It is just around us, she does the guitar much better than she sings. I mean, she has a nice voice, but too pop to what the band proposes. As a guitar player, she has a pockeful of tricks and riffs and stuff. Just listen to the title track “Born to Break” and cacth all the subtly and puch the girl has.

From then on The Amorettes “Born to Break” gets more hard and heavy than rock’n’roll, which is much better. Songs are catchy, but not that sweetened sugared catchy. Gill Montgomery puts some emotional resources, I mean anger – a rock singer needs anger in the voice – to her voice and sets apart from the popper singing.

The Amorettes “Born to Break” will pour some sugar on us on April 06th via Steamhammer / SPV Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Can You Feel the Fire
  2. Hello and Goodbye
  3. Everything I Learned I Learned From Rock and Roll
  4. Born to Break
  5. What Ever Gets You Through the Night
  6. Hell or High Water
  7. You Still Got Rock and Roll
  8. Easy Tiger
  9. Bat Shit Crazy
  10. Coming Up the Middle
  11. High on Your Energy
  12. I Want It Bad

Watch “Everything I Learned (I Learned From Rock And Roll)” official video here: