The Dead Daisies – Locked And Loaded

The Dead Daisies “Locked And Loaded” kicks out the way every Heavy Music album should; with an energetic and pulsating song as “Midnight Moses” with the famous hey-hey chorus that puts everybody up. “Midnight Moses” is so full of energy that makes you very excited to the point of banging the head with headphones and everything. A song that makes everybody look at what you’re doing – you know what I mean. The Dead Daisies play a vigorous Heavy Rock that makes us very proud of reviewing it. Cactus would be very proud of them. Just the right amount of blues and Heavy Rock and distortion and rebel. “Evil” feels just like it’s the late 1960’s and the early 1970s with all its energy and mesmerizing guitar riff. For fans of Heavy Rock, The Dead Daisies are a mouthful.

For starters, “Locked And Loaded” is a homage album with covers of bands like Deep Purple, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Grand Funk Railroad, The Beatles, and other big guns from the 1960s and 1970s. All the songs were hits and to tell you the truth I just loved this The Dead Daisies version. The thing is The Dead Daisies did it very respectfully playing the songs the way they thought they should be. I explain, they made versions of them. Of course, this is walking on thin ice because it is very easy to do it wrong. Some songs are eternal and fans would never accept any other version not even from the original band. Indeed The Dead Daisies were very wise in choosing the songs because the songs here are classic, but they’re not the kind of classic that fans only accept the original version. In fact, most of them were covered zillion times. Though this doesn’t take the bright and the fun out of the songs making it great listening to The Dead Daisies and “Locked And Loaded.” It’s a blessing to listen to those versions of them because The Dead Daisies are made of very capable and resourceful musicians. The kind that never disappoint the fan. No wonder this album be so good.

The Dead Daisies “Locked And Loaded” was released on August 23rd via Spitfire Music / SPV.

Track Listing:

  1. Midnight Moses
  2. Evil
  3. Fortunate Son
  4. Join Together
  5. Helter Skelter
  6. Bitch
  7. American Band (live)
  8. Revolution
  9. Rockin’ in the Free World (live)
  10. Highway Star (live)

Watch “We’re an American Band” live video here: