The Unity – Rise

It’s so great when we have the opportunity of following steps of a band’s career. Last year we reviewed The Unity self-titled first effort. For that we notice that The Unit is a band that really knows what they want and their musical philosophy which a melodic heavy metal with tons of catchy choruses. No one can say The Unity is a band whose determination is patent. “Rise” is a coherent album from track one to track 13. Every song is stick together with The Unity’s musical glue aforementioned.

“Rise” begins with a short intro “Revenge” – the name isn’t without a purpose – which does the bridge to “Last Betrayal,” which is the heaviest track in this album with its fast double bass drumming and catchy riffing. From “Last Betrayal” on “Rise” gains on more melodic vocals and on squeak guitars. Catchy choruses go throughout the album. It’s pretty much the 1980s heavy pop formula. The same that grabbed zillion throughout the globe. So why not try it again? That’s The Unity’s musical philosophy. That it works fine to them no one can deny. Listen to “The Storm” and dare to say I am wrong in my point. Is the formula worn out? If it were, The Unity and “Rise” wouldn’t be here, don’t you agree?

Some tracks, though, seem to be looking for something else as “Road to Nowhere” with its huge guitar tone and atmospheric keyboards in the beginning. Pretty much what Rainbow used to do in Joe Lynn Turner’s era. There’s a modern metal touch here and there like in the bridge to guitar solo and some seconds in the beginning. By the way, “Rise” features huge guitar playing if you haven’t notice it.

Well, if your thing is extreme metal, please, step away from “Rise,” but you are in something with more fun, here’s your album.

The Unity “Rise” will be released on September 14 via Steamhammer / SPV.

Track Listing:

  1. Revenge
  2. Last Betrayal
  3. You Got Me Wrong
  4. The Storm
  5. Road to Nowhere
  6. Welcome Home
  7. All That Is Real
  8. No Hero
  9. The Willow Tree
  10. Above Everything
  11. Children of the Light
  12. Better Day
  13. L.I.F.E.

Watch “The Storm” official video here: