Virgin Idol – Virgin Idol Review

An album incredibly influenced by the best bands of the 1980s. This debut album got by the guts from the beginning with “Prologue” and then “Don’t Touch the Flame” the most non-original start but still got the thrills. Two bands are clearly influences to Virgin Idol’s music and they are Accept and Judas Priest. Accept due to the incredible resemblance of vocalist JR Preston with the master and immortal Udo Dirckschneider. Judas Priest are in tracks as “Russian Roulette” which addresses to Judas Priest’s “Love Bites” from “Defenders of the Faith” era. Interestingly, “Russian Roulette” is a song and the tittle track of an Accept album, coincidentally the last with Udo. well, as my passion for Metal music started with both bands I had no doubt of loving the band and the album immediately.

There are two tracks that stand out of the crowd and they are both instrumentals. The first is the guitar shredding “Junji” which its taste and overtones of Loudness’s Akira Takasaki – look up for him and the band, my dear fan. I guess the overtones were the thing that reminded me of him. The second is the grand finale “Outro” with its uncanny sonancy that sounds to have be en written to be part of a soundtrack of some B movie. By the way, the guitars overtones in “Virgin Idol” are great. Clear, thicky, robust, muscular. There is also that incredible sound of the Chorus pedal plus Digital Delay pedal that eleven in ten guitarists used in the 1980s to give the bright sonancy showcased here. Hence all guitar interventions are more than welcome. Basically, Virgin Idol’s music bounces between both bands I aforementioned. Following track “Satan’s Will” has generous doses of Judas Priest’s “Painkiller” era and somehow I sense some King Diamond’s Merciful Fate in it as well. Merciful Fate are also a valid influence. On secnd thought, this gets even more clear with “Do It Again” which has the same traits as the previous track.

This debut album got by the guts and by the guitars overtones. A great album if my dear fan likes the typical sonancy of the 1980s which from where I’m standing is the best of all.

Virgin Idol “Virgin Idol” was released on May 10th Super Sargasso.

Track Listing:

  1. Prologue
  2. Don’t Touch the Flame
  3. Satan’s Will
  4. Do It Again
  5. Junji
  6. Demon Night
  7. Heartshaker
  8. Russian Roulette
  9. Outro

Watch “Satan’s Will” official music video here: