Xpus – In Umbra Mortis Sedent

After a little while, here we are back with the good old putrid and malevolent Death Metal. In a way, I’d say it is real good to vary a little. The same food everyday tires a bit, even if the food is Metal food. You know, we are people. As I said once, I know that I am sometimes a bit redundant, but I do like all kinds of Metal music, except for metalcore and industrial. And metalcore a little because it depends on the band, for I’ve reviewd some real great bands here. Industrail I just can’t take it. It’s too much even for me. Too near the pop crap we are obliged to take once in a while. Metal for me is against all the frigging situation out there, Metal stands up for the weird, the outcast, the independent, the pariah, because in this sick society we’re living in the pariah is cleaner than the normal.

Right on! Here we have Xpus with “In Umbra Mortis Sedent.” A Death-blackned Doom band if you ask me – you see? I’m getting used to the labeling. I guess. The great thing Xpus is the game they play with tempos. A song can go from the almost slow doomy to the fastest deathy in a blink of an eye. Everything wrapped with a funeral and cavernous vocal which seems to be back from the seven depths of hell asking you, the fan, to go with it. Musicwise the band cuts to the chase. Songs are straight-ahead with no wussies or wimps, just the way we metallers like it – well, sometimes a little going around is appreciated, isn’t it? As I said, the thing is the game with tempos the band does in almost all tracks of “In Umbra Mortis Sedent.” Songs are built for a slow rotting as a cadaver in a controlled enviroment. That’s the way it is. Songs are trapped in a vicious circuit of slow-and-go that hypnotizes the fan. The intent of the band is to hypnotize the fan with their slow-rotting cadence. Pretty much Death Metal except for the velocity, but who cares?

This is it. An album of low putrefaction and decay claiming the fan to stay together and watch while it goes. Wanna be part?

Xpus “In Umbra Mortis Sedent” was released on April 24th via Transcending Obscurity Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Abyssus Abyssum Invocat
  2. Into the Sphere of Madness
  3. Blood Rite of Liberation
  4. The Gates of Doom
  5. Of Purity, Chastity and Temptation
  6. Broken is the Seal of Equilibrium
  7. Clerical Rooms of Depravity
  8. Righteous Hands of Molestation
  9. Holy Sperm upon the Lambs
  10. Repentance, Forgiveness and Salvation

Watch official video here: