MORBID ANGEL Frontman: ‘The Most Uninformed People In The World Have To Be Poor American People’

Metal Mofos recently conducted an interview with MORBID ANGEL frontman Steve Tucker. You can now listen to the chat below.

Speaking about how the divisive rhetoric during last year’s U.S. presidential elections affected the lyrical content of MORBID ANGEL‘s upcoming album, “Kingdoms Disdained”Tucker said: “Honestly, I think I took on sort of a third approach to it [in my lyrics]. I think you have this side’s approach, that side’s approach and then you have the third approach, which would be sort of the truth. The truth is that everybody was just f**ked, everybody was just acting a fool, dude — nobody was acting right. And I mean, that was the truth of it, and, honestly, there’s a certain amount of disgust in that — the way that everyone [would] sink to such levels of…

“Honestly, I have to say one of the lowest points so far in my life was watching the presidential debates,” he continued. “And yeah, I watched them, because I wanted to see what was said, I wanted to see what the hell they talked about, and what they did, man, was they turned it into the ‘Kardashians’, bro — they turned it into a sort of a headline fest. And never really did they ever really talk about anything that they would have either ever truly done or were hoping to truly do. And that, to me, man, from a third-person perspective is really just disgusting and completely disheartening, dude.

“For the people that are paying attention to that and not getting tied up in the emotion one side or the other, if you’re looking at it real neutral, you end up realizing the complete lack of facts that were there for anyone to make any sort of a decent decision. And I find that to be unsettling that that’s the way that we go about politics and that’s the way we go about our information.”

Tucker, who is back for his third spell with MORBID ANGEL, added: “Honestly, dude, the most uninformed people in the world have to be poor American people. If you’re so poor that you can’t afford cable or the Internet to get varying opinions of things, then the opinion that is shoved down your throat is the most uninformed, unnewsworthy thing that you can ever hear.

“I’m not trying to change the world about racism and things like that, but racism and all that, it’s not what it used to be at all. And I’m not saying that it’s not there, because it absolutely is. But, man, the real issue is really the difference in people — elite people and regular people. Your regular person, they live their life hoping to hell they don’t get pulled over and get a speeding ticket, because if they get pulled over and get a speeding ticket and harassed by the cop and [get] an additional ticket because they might have gotten upset, man, they just lost half a month’s salary, one Christmas for their kids, they’ve just done all that. Whereas the more elite people, they don’t even have to worry about that, because the cops don’t pull them over, man. Nobody even knows what they’re doing; nobody’s got the thumb on them the way that the thumb is on your average person, man. And I’m not somebody trying to throw a conspiracy. That’s no conspiracy, dude — it’s there. Drive through the good neighborhood and look around and see how they actually live a little bit compared to how you live, and it’s usually drastically different, man.”

MORBID ANGEL will release new album, “Kingdoms Disdained”, on December 1 via Silver Lining Music and JVC in Japan. The album was recorded at Mana Studios in St. Petersburg, Florida and produced by MORBID ANGEL with Erik Rutan (CANNIBAL CORPSEHATE ETERNALSIX FEET UNDERBELPHEGOR).

“Kingdoms Disdained” track listing:

01. Piles Of Little Arms
02. D.E.A.D.
03. Garden Of Disdain
04. The Righteous Voice
05. Architect And Iconoclast
06. Paradigms Warped
07. The Pillars Crumbling
08. For No Master
09. Declaring New Law (Secret Hell)
10. From The Hand Of Kings
11. The Fall Of Idols