Axel Rudi Pell – Risen Symbol Review

I won’t waste my dear children of the night’s time saying that Axel Rudi Pell is one of the most prolific musicians we’ve ever reviewed here. I guess I did it on the last review of his 2023’s “The Ballads VI.” I’m sure I did. The man is like a clock in terms of releasing albums no matter what. It’s one every year with variations. I mean by variations he releases not only new songs, but also compilations of his ballads and others. “Risen Symbol” is an album of new songs with the cover of Led Zeppelin’s “Immigrant Song,” one of the confessed influences Mr. Pell has.

It’s great to realize Mr. Pell maintains his band with no changes regarding to formation. The charismatic voice of frontman Johnny Gioeli still does vocals with the help of former Rainbow drummer Bobby Rondinelli, and the two longstanding members Ferdy Doernberg with the keyboards and Volker Krawczak with the bass. From where I’m standing the constant change of formation doesn’t help to keep the flame high. My guess it’s the other way around.

Musicwise, is a little more melodic than the previous albums. “Ankhaia” is here to prove my point with a great taste of Mr. Rondinelli’s previous band Rainbow. The song isn’t only the longest with more than ten minutes, but also the one keeping the epic verve Mr. Pell’s band always give to their music. My dear fan that knows Led Zeppelin’s “Immigrant Song” might not recognize it at first as Mr. Pell’s makes it his own. Maybe with the chorus. Just kidding. The song has the same vibe and mood of the original with here and there Mr. Pell’s touches. Of course, as it is usual, there is a ballad. This time it’s called “Crying in Pain,” whose tittle tells a lot about what it’s made of. There’s no need of explaing or telling much about it. Well, Mr. Gioeli’s voice fits very well in it. As usual. Album warmer “Forever Strong” has a very strong guitar riff – no pun intended – and powerful drumming bordering Power Metal taking the immediately to the same level of its predecessors. It’s clear that Mr. Pell’s really knows how to bounce strong songs with more melodic ones. Maybe this is the secret of his longevity.

“Risen Symbol” is an album not only for Mr. Pell’s fans, but also for all metallers that love listening to living legends.

“Risen Symbol” will be released on June 14th via Steamhammer / SPV Records.

Track Listing:

  1. The Resurrection (Intro)
  2. Forever Strong
  3. Guardian Angel
  4. Immigrant Song
  5. Darkest Hour
  6. Ankhaia
  7. Hell`s on Fire
  8. Crying in Pain
  9. Right on Track
  10. Taken by Storm

Watch official music video here: