Black Sites – Exile

Life’s really ironic. I reviewed two very uncanny albums in a role and I desired to get something more regular, normal piece what I mean. I like regular, but I also like the uncanny. The contradictions of life. Some call it dialectics. Well, in fact, Metal is dialectic itself with all its contradictions, the constant back and forth, dealing with the need of keeping tradition with the constant need of reinventing and reshaping. That’s the dialects of Metal in simple words. Get any Metal band from the 1970s and compare it to today’s bands. There are lots of difference, but, however, the essence hasn’t been lost. I won’t mention the fact that there are lots of bands playing just the way it was in the 1970s, or the 1980s, or the 1990s. That’s Metal in its pure essence, my child of the night.

Well, I was talking about Black Sites with “Exile” and how I wanted to listen to something more regular. When I heard first track “The Night They Came For You” I immediately though “Jeez, one more uncanny band.” Yeah, because “The Night They Came For You” sounds pretty modern with a grip from Nü Metal and also some experimental stuff. I have to say it’s a very good track, though. That’s why I kept going. Then second track “To the Fire” sounds more regular. Really some 1980ish piece. I thought “Ah, that’s exactly what I’m looking for.” Then comes third track “Feral Child” with a touch of both past and present. I confess that by the end of it I remembered what was that sound that I was trying to remember where I knew it. “To the Fire” sounds as 1980s Kiss era. Man, I gotta tell you. I wasn’t expecting a band like Black Sites, but I’m really happy I got through it.

When you think you had enough surprises with Black Sites come “Coal City” which is not exactly a ballad, but a slow tempo track with only an acoustic guitar that then, in sudden, calls for a grand finale with a 1970ish main guitar phrase. Vocals got harsher and took the lead giving the song an amazing atmosphere. Black Sites are a band that really know how to surprise you. All this keeping a low style production very near to the independent. I don’t know if you can follow me, it’s not the quality, it’s the way things are done.

Black Sites are a band that represents in equal terms past, present, and future. As they make a blend of past and present, they are building up a future for Metal. But things go smoothly for them, everything follows a natural path. There are no push overs, no one’s forcing anything. Just the natural way of things.

Black Sites “Exile” will be released on April 19th via Hoove Child Records.

Track Listing:

  1. The Night They Came For You
  2. To the Fire
  3. Feral Child
  4. Coal City
  5. Dream Long Dead
  6. Focused Totality – The Psychic Knife
  7. Prolonging
  8. Dwell upon the Dead

Watch “To the Fire” official video here:

Sign up to receive all latest news and updates from Metal Addicts straight into your inbox!