TANK – Power of the Hunter Review

Maybe the almost six years of writing reviews looking for details in each album here have changed the way I listen to music. This album “Power of the Hunter” sounds very different the album I heard years ago. Now it sounds much more a transitional album that it sounded back then. By transitional I mean an album that shows the very first traits that a band is going to change their style. Moreover, their way of looking at music. That’s exactly “Power of the Hunter” what seems to me. One way of seeing it is that TANK now don’t sound as much as Motörhead as the band did in the previous albums. There’s even an instrumental track self-tittled “T.A.N.K.” with lots of 1970s features. In fact, I dare to say and I don’t know if my dear fan will agree with me vocals on “Power of the Hunter” made me think it would a Kiss album where the one and only vocalist was Gene ‘The Long-Tongued’ Simmons. No, it’s no too much and I’m not exaggerating. Not even a bit. The tones of both vocalists Gene ‘The Long-Tongued’ Simmons and Algy Ward are very similar here. The Osmonds cover of “Crazy Horses” sounds as if it were recorded to “Love Gun” or “Rock and Roll Over.” Or even “Filth Bitch Boogie.” Perhaps I’m too much of Kiss fan. Maybe not. My dear fan will say.

Giving a deeper thought about and “Power of the Hunter” the time it was recorded may clear my hypothesis of transitional album. In 1982, the year album was released, TANK had previously recorded and released their most famous and recognized album “Filth Hounds of Hades.” So, I don’t about you my dear child of the night, but it’s a huge effort to a band to release two albums in the same year considering all the tours the band had. I’m not saying that “Power of the Hunter” is a bad album. What I mean is that looking in a retrospective way and knowing the history of the band it’s possible to say that the band was thinking about a change of hearts. There comes a time to a band that some things are hughly considered. That happened to many bands in the middle of the 1980s. It happened to Judas Priest, Raven, Saxon, and many others almost in the same time. Those bands tried to made their music more accessible, if you know what I mean. The problem is that it backfired because they lost their hardcore fans and gained only trendy fans that soon abandoned them at the least change of heart. Again, I’m not saying “Power of the Hunter” is a bad album. It’s just different.

TANK “Power of the Hunter” will be released on April 06th via High Roller Records.

To be continued in the end of May…

Track Listing:

  1. Walking Barefoot over Glass
  2. Pure Hatred
  3. Biting and Scratching
  4. Some Came Running
  5. T.A.N.K.
  6. Used Leather (Hanging Loose)
  7. Crazy Horses (The Osmonds Cover)
  8. Set Your Back on Fire
  9. Red Skull Rock
  10. Power of the Hunter / Oh, What a Beautiful Morning
  11. Crazy Horses (Single Version)
  12. Filth Bitch Boogie

Watch “Power of the Hunter” official alive video: