Berserker – Dark Worlds Collide

COVER  Melodic metal will always hold a special place in my heart as it was one of the few subgenres that got me into metal in the first place, so I had some good expectations after hearing good stuff about Berserker’s debut album, “Dark Worlds Collide”. Luckily, Berserker have thought to change up the typical formula for themselves as they have a woman as a vocalist which to me adds several new dynamics like making the songs feel more fluid and have a smoother feel overall. On the other hand, though, I felt that some of the tracks off the album feel very stretched out with some of them reaching over 6 minutes long which I don’t think Berserker pulled off all that well. But other than that, “Dark Worlds Collide” is a very strong debut by all intents and purposes and it shows that Berserker knows the sound that they’re going for and that they have a good idea on how to do it. The guitars had a great rhythm to them that was enough to keep me interested along with the beat of the drums and the pulsing of the bass that helped more the album along. But in the end I have to say that I’m not crazy about “Dark Worlds Collide as it isn’t something I’d listen to on a regular basis, but I can see them greatly improving whenever they drop they’re next album. I’d definitely be up to see how they I proved since this album.

You can purchase “Dark Worlds Collide” via iTunes here, and stream the track “Wolf” via YouTube below.

Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Dark Worlds Collide
3. Warhell
4. Madness Machine
5. The Day Human Died
6. Wolf
7. Prelude
8. Viking Ship
9. Mūšis Už žemę