DROTT (ENSLAVED, ULVER) Unveil New Single ‘Arch Of Gloom’

Drott Band

Today, DROTT releases the hypnotic new single and video “Arch of Gloom”! The video, which was directed and edited by Jens Kristian Rimau can be seen below.

The band comments on “Arch of Gloom”: “At the end of a dark and bouncy road lies the ‘Arch of Gloom.’ Through persistent bass and drums, ‘Arch of Gloom’ is driven to the point of desperate collapse by a haunting guitar solo. Mesmerizing in its mystical attraction, it hypnotizes desperate souls into a surrealistic dance before they are lured down the abyss to face the verdict of Orcus.”

DROTT is comprised of Arve Isdal (ENSLAVED), Ivar Thormodsæter (ULVER) and Matias Monsen and hails from Bergen in the west coast of Norway. With their varied musical background ranging from metal and jazz to classical music, they create the genre which can only be described as DROTT. Inspired by forces of nature, superstition and spirituality the trio explores light within darkness through their music.

The group, recently established (2020), released their self-titled EP in March 2021 and received great reviews. It established the DROTT’s instrumental Progressive Rock sound as a breath of fresh air in the genre! Their first full-length Orcus album takes DROTT in a new creative and artistic direction. With 10 tracks they dive deeper into sonic, experimental landscapes!

Orcus track listing:

1. The Lure
2. Caerdroia
3. Katabasis
4. The Strait
5. Psychopomp
6. By the Lunar Lake
7. The Marauders
8. Grey Gull
9. Arch of Gloom
10. Orcus

Drott Orcus