Heathen – Empire of the Blind

Heathen Empire Of The Blind

The future of thrash is always in question in these times where the legends are just simply getting older and we become more open to the fact every year that at some point, they’re going to have to call it for one reason or another. So, it’s more often than not that many of us are looking towards the younger acts that populate the style in order to find something else to latch onto before we’re caught unaware of the quickly changing scene that we’re going to find ourselves in. But, it’s in such confusion that people also tend to forget about the simple fact that the classic acts are still dishing out new material, and it’s often more than worthy of commendation. Heathen is just the latest band to do such, and it’s with their brand new work that they’ve created something that’s far from forgetful by any and all standards.

The beautiful part about seeing classic acts make new material is that even though there’s likely to be barely any sort of change across their albums, even over decades, they can still make it sound great. I think that’s one of the most admirable parts of any longtime band still being able to make it work, and it’s here that Heathen provides us with yet another example as to why they’re a perfect fit for such a description. From top to bottom, everything about “Empire of the Blind” has what’s needed in order for any thrash connoisseur to call this work something that absolutely must be heard if you want to hear what’s easily one of the best thrash works this year has to offer.

It’s just all there without any exceptions. Heathen brought together everything in their entire arsenal to produce something that cannot be considered anything other than immensely fitting for a band like this. Right out of the gate, you can tell that “Empire of the Blind” means business from the inviting yet foreboding intro, more than enough diversity between all of the songs, a terrifying sense of speed that pairs excellently with anything that Heathen may want to go for whether it be intensity or pulling it all back for a different feel entirely, and how everything between the vocals, the cover art, and the rhythms working together flawlessly to make everything that is “Empire of the Blind” a damn good listen by all means. Just all of the possible elements you could think of came together so incredibly well that you’ll have to be hard-pressed to make for a case that Heathen hasn’t created something that’s more than worthwhile to listen to.

Thrash always has a few highlights throughout the year to bring forth and for us to sink our teeth into, and it’s undfeniable to say that Heathen has created this year’s best when it comes to thrash that demands to be heard. “Empire of the Blind” has so much that you could ask for, and it’s not just proof that Heathen still has so much to offer, but also that the elgends of thrash are not to be underestimated no matter the circumstances.

“Empire of the Blind” releases on September 18th via Nuclear Blast Records! You can pre-order the album via multiple sources here, and listen to singles from “Empire of the Blind” on Bandcamp here.

Track Listing:
1. This Rotting Sphere
2. The Blight
3. Empire of the Blind
4. Dead and Gone
5. Sun In My Hand
6. Blood To Be Let
7. In Black
8. Shrine of Apathy
9. Devour
10. A Fine Red Mist
11. The Gods Divide
12. Monument to Ruin