Joe Robinson – Faith Review

Album opener “Go for the Throat” is a track that my dear child of the night probably migh have heard a bazillion times. It’s guitar riff is kind of crystalized into Metal fans’ mind. That’s really true, but – there is always one – I don’t know a better way to rise the crowd. The kind of song that sticks into one’s mind and it’s very difficult to take it off. Between you and me, this is the ability Hair Metal has that attracts the most. The same occurs with this album named “Faith.” All songs have that sugar topping, but who here doesn’t love sugar? For real! The thing is that listening to the album I could feel that energy, that will to make music. All the things that make music good. Some call it true. Others call it poser or worse.

For real, “Go for the Throat” is the heaviest song of the album. Well, most times, as in “Hangin’ on” the guitars are mixed lower, much mower than vocals. This is clearly the producer’s choice in order to give vocals the highlight. But, between you and me, we’re talking about a Rock or even Hair Metal album where the guitars are expected to be loud. It’s such a pity to listen to the great riffs provided by Joe Robinson so low. There is real talent in here. “See the Light” with louder guitars would be just perfect. Just a thought.

“Faith” is one chapter of three albums. “Faith,” “Heart of Stone,” and “My Technology” are a culmination of Joe Robinson’s writing as a solo artist. He is responsable for instruments and everything in the album from the performing to the production and mixing. By the way, the man has a long way into music. He grew up in a family of musicians and started his journey in the 1980s, first writing songs and singing and later picking up a guitar.

This is an interesting album for Hair Metal fans. The ones that have a thing for sugar coated songs – sorry, it’s not a bad thing. It’s honest. That’s the word that really means.

Joe Robinson “Faith” was released in July.

Track Listing:

  1. Go for the Throat
  2. I Believe in You
  3. Save Me
  4. All We Are
  5. Faith
  6. Someday
  7. Hangin’ On
  8. Jealousy
  9. See the Light
  10. Goodbye

Watch “Faith” official music video here: