UMBILICUS (feat. CANNIBAL CORPSE/DEICIDE Members) Signs Deal With Blood Blast Distribution


There have been hints at a new rock band, UMBILICUS, floating around for months but it seems to be materializing now, in the signing of a digital deal with Blood Blast Distribution.  The quartet, which features Paul Mazurkiewicz (CANNIBAL CORPSEon drums, Taylor Nordberg (DEICIDE, INHUMAN CONDITIONon guitar, Vernon Blake (ANARCHUS, NAPALM DEATH-live) on bass, and Brian Stephenson (FORE, OLD JAMES) on vocals, has put their love of 60s and 70s rock into their debut full-length album, which will arrive later this year. 

We are all so excited to finally start releasing some music from this band!  I have worked with Blood Blast Distribution with several other bands, and they are absolutely killer to work with.  Pro, great communication, and they care about the artists.  Our first single should be out this month, so stay tuned!Nordberg said.

Mazurkiewicz says: “UMBILICUS was formed in the summer of 2020 and driven by our love of rock and roll from the late 60’s, 70’s and early 80’s.  I’ve been listening to well-known bands like GRAND FUNK, BAD COMPANY and STEPPENWOLF and not-so-well-known bands like SIR LORD BALTIMORE and LUCIFER’S FRIEND for the last 20 years or so now.  The more I listened to these bands the more I wanted to play music like this.  It is just so much fun to sit back and groove out and play by complete feel without beating my body down.  To just play some pure hard rock!  We composed 10 very cool songs throughout 2020 but the one piece of the puzzle was missing: an awesome voice to tie it all together. Enter Brian Stephenson! An amazing vocalist and lyricist that completed the lineup! I am so proud of what we have written and I can’t wait for the world to hear what we have to offer!

The band is currently finishing up their debut album, yet-untitled, to be released in 2022. More details regarding track-listing, artwork, and release date will be announced soon.  A teaser video is available below which features a short demo mix of a new song.


Brian Stephenson – vocals

Paul Mazurkiewicz – drums

Vernon Blake – bass

Taylor Nordberg – guitar