Amaranthe – Manifest

Amaranthe Manifest

“Is it wrong for me to say that it feels as though many modern metal acts of this kind are almost influenced too heavily by Evanescence?” That’s what I found myself wondering on my first time through the new Amaranthe album with it feeling like many, many other female-fronted metal acts that we’ve gotten over the past decade. Melodies that feel quite safe, songs that can retread a lot of “liberating” emotions that feel pretty hollow oftentimes, an almost criminally underused front-woman whose voice has a ton of potential but doesn’t have a lot of variety in her performance, and more are what I found myself feeling throughout “Manifest” for a good number of my initial listens. But, it’s when I just put it on repeat and really let the album just happen time and time again, I really started to get a much deeper feel for what Amaranthe has done here to the point where I can now say I genuinely enjoy what’s been put forth.

When I first finished “Manifest” I just could not shake the thought that this feels like an ever so slightly more metal version of Evanescence with how all the performances felt from the keyboards to the front-woman’s voice feeling oftentimes very much the same from one song to the next to the lyrical content paired with the instruments providing an arguably weak performance. But, as I said, it really took multiple listens for Amaranthe’s work to properly warm up to me, and it’s at the point where I can say I genuinely enjoy the vast majority of what’s been done here. Apart from two tracks, particularly “Strong” and “BOOM!1”, that just don’t fit right whatsoever, the whole of “Manifest” is far from anything that deserves being scoffed at by any means. Throughout all of these twelve tracks, Amaranthe is very consistent at keeping the energy flowing even if it can sometimes feel monotone, but I strongly urge a second listen in order to be shown that every song off “Manifest” can stand proudly on its own. Amaranthe may play things a little too safe for my preference at times, but it’s for the entirety of this record that the band constantly and consistently shows us that they’re an act that is more than up to the challenge of delivering something that;’s worth the listener’s time and attention – undeniably so – and it’s just intoxicating enough to bring those with susceptible ears to come crawling back for another quick dose.

A good number of paces away from something that I’d ever call great, but a more than far cry from something that I’d ever dare consider to be bad by any account, “Manifest” grows into something that may seem formulaic at times to become something that people can really sink their teeth into as the band shows us what they’re capable of in a fashion that’s mildly addicting, flashy, and a true grower. Amaranthe undoubtedly had the better part of my doubts when I ventured into their latest creation, but it’s now that I can gladly find myself listening to the material without a care in the world knowing that I’m listening to some good music.

“Manifest” releases on October 2nd via Nuclear Blast Records! You can pre-order “Manifest” via multiple sources here.

Track Listing:
1. Fearless
2. Make It Better
3. Scream My Name
4. Viral
5. Adrenaline
6. Strong
7. The Game
8. Crystalline
9. Archangel
10. BOOM!1
11. Die And Wake Up
12. Do Or Die