Behind Your Fear – Anthropocene Review

Never judge a book by its cover says the old, but wise, saying. Or, in this very especific case, never judge an album by its cover or band name or album tittle. Like I said just the other day, most of the time it’s possible to get to know the music the band does by its name or album tittle. Well, not in this case. I’ll admit I thought Behind Your Fear with “Anthropocene” would be a Technical Death Metal band or, maybe, a Melodic Death Metal. No, not even close. What we’ve got here is a very interesting Symphonic Metal band with some influence of some Modern Metal features mixed in a very particular way. After some tracks and some deep thoughts about Stefanie’s voice  I finally recognized where from I got to know it. Her voice her a fantastic resemblance with Blondie’s Debbie Harry, my first passion for a female voice around Rock. I owe her a lot, guys.

It’s very hard to stand out from the crowd when one’s band plays Symphonic Metal, if you know what I mean. I guess we receive at least a Symphonic Metal band for a week. To attract the fan, and the reviewer, the band has to go for something different than the duo female operatic vocals and classical music influences. Behind Your Fear do that having the guitars a little bit low tuned than the average Symphonic Metal bands and varying the songs with some other influences. To some extent, tracks as “Shattered Mirrors” are more mirrored – the pun is not intencional – on Modern Metal influences than the Symphonic ones. “DNR,” on the other hand, is the track that reminded me of Debbie Harry and Blondie. Ok, Behind Your Fear are much heavier but the intent is the same especially when it comes to the slower and acoustic parts. The very Symphonic Metal facete is felt only in the last, but not least, “Lullaby” and its sweet and gentle piano and the violins at the end. Short, but very effective.

Well, useless to say that I was caught by the guitar riff from album opener “One Day” a song that catches the fan by the guts. The guitar riff is extremely catchy with some 1970s sonancy wrapped with some modern traits. Welcoming tracks have their strong suit on me. As I said many times before they are a kind of invitation card to the album and, most of the times, are the best track from an album. A thesis already to be proven.

Behind Your Fear “Anthropocene” will be self-released on September 30th.

Track Listing:

  1. One Day
  2. The Mask
  3. New Ways
  4. Bandaged Eyes
  5. Little While
  6. Heartbeats
  7. Weakness
  8. Hollow
  9. Shattered Mirrors
  10. DNR
  11. Lullaby

Watch “New Ways” official music video here:

Sign up to receive all latest news and updates from Metal Addicts straight into your inbox!