Doro – Conqueress – Forever Strong and Proud Review

Doro – Conqueress – Forever Strong and Proud

Yeah, Doro Pesch is our queen. I have no shadow of doubt about it. Now she’s back stronger and with even more heart, if that is possible. “Conqueress – Forever Strong and Proud” is one of the most heartful albums that I’ve ever heard. All Doro fans know that this kind of an impossible thing because the Metal Queen – a more than deserved tittle – is all heart and passion. Her music is really something out of the box for the ones who get used to it. Here she shows her fan face in a duet with the Metal god Rob Halford in a cover for the timeless classic “Living After Midnight.” As it is a fan thing, she goes again with the Metal god with the cover of Bonnie Tyler’s “Total Eclipse of the Heart,” a song that the young at heart will surely remember from the sleepless nights listening to FM radios trying to get some Metal songs. Our idols like sugar coated songs, if you know what I mean. Well, I can live with that if this idol is Doro.

The album commences with the very anthemic and epic “Children of the Dawn” with that chorus that Teutonic Metal bands has made famous. A great start that immediately puts the fan in the same page with the general mood of the album. Doro just loves this kind of anthemic chorus. She does it again with “Drive Me Wild” a song with the pure heart of the 1980’s. Pure Accept and Warlock, her previous band before embracing her solo career. As I said, the tone of the album is the heart and the passion.

It’s possible to say that “Conqueress – Forever Strong and Proud” has two very distinct parts. The strong and hard tracks as album opener “Children of the Dawn” until “I Will Prevail.” Tracks that keep Doro’s verve to headbang large. Her other facete, the one with more heart than power, commences with the Blondie inpired “Bond Unending” featuring Sammy Amara. Then, the Metal Queen steps on the brakes and goes a little slower with more cadenced tracks as “Time for Justice.” This also means that, as we all know, our queen loves ballads and they are about to begin. They start with “Fels in der Brandung” and goes on with the ballad introduced “Love Breaks Chains,” but with a slower tempo. The other ballad is the piano driven “Best in Me.” Not her best, but the Queen is the Queen.

“Conqueress – Forever Strong and Proud” features five bonus tracks as a gift to the hardcore fans that have always applauded the Metal Queen. An album to praise and to headbang with all the heart and passion.

Doro “Conqueress – Forever Strong and Proud” will be released on October 27th via Nuclear Blast Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Children of the Dawn
  2. Fire in the Sky
  3. Living After Midnight (ft. Rob Halford)
  4. All For You
  5. Lean Mean Rock Machine
  6. I Will Prevail
  7. Bond Unending (ft. Sammy Amara)
  8. Time for Justice
  9. Fels in der Brandung
  10. Love Breaks Chains
  11. Drive Me Wild
  12. Rise
  13. Best in Me
  14. Heavenly Creatures
  15. Total Eclipse of the Heart (ft. Rob Halford)CD 2
  16. Warlocks And Witches (Intro)(Bonus Track)
  17. Horns Up High (Bonus Track)
  18. True Metal Maniacs (Bonus Track)
  19. Heart in Pain (Bonus Track)
  20. The Four Horsemen (Bonus Track)

Watch “Time for Justice” official music video here: