ENSLAVED Reveals ‘Utgard’ Concept And Track Listing

Enslaved 2019
Photo credit: Roy Bjørge

True avant-garde Norwegians ENSLAVED have shared some details and track listing for their upcoming album Utgard.

“As announced earlier, our upcoming album Utgard will be released in fall 2020 via Nuclear Blast, and we would like to take a moment to walk you through the album’s essence and tracklist,” band wrote in a statement.

Utgard bears countless meanings to us; an image, metaphor, an esoteric “location”, a word on its own etc – on different levels and layers. From Norse mythology we know it as a landscape were the giants roam; where the gods of Asgard have no control; dangerous, chaotic, uncontrollable and where madness, creativeness, humor and chaos dwells.

“The album is a journey into and through Utgard,” statement continues. “It is a place of unification of that which is above and that which lies below. It is not about avoiding fear of the pitch-black darkness (it will keep on growing until the next confrontation), but to go into the darkness itself. This is the rebirth of the individual. In a world that has become so obsessed with the false lights of greed, jealousy and egotism this is a necessary journey.

Utgard is not a fairytale, it is a vital part of both your mind and your surroundings, and it has been since the dawn of mankind. Acknowledging that this realm exists and is a vital part of the self, has inspired us deeply since the early days of our lives. Enjoy our journey to the outer limits.”

Utgard track listing:

1. Fires In The Dark
2. Jettegryta
3. Sequence
4. Homebound
5. Utgardr
6. Urjotun
7. Flight Of Thought And Memory
8. Storms Of Utgard
9. Distant Seasons

Enslaved Utgard