Exhumed – Death Revenge

 Throughout the years of all of metal, there have been acts that stand out amongst the crowd, naturally. Some of these bands have led to being some household names for all sorts of metalheads from all over the globe, and will always remain that way because of such a legendary status. Yet, there’s always the group right below such a prestigious level where the bands in question are undoubtedly well known and respected, but they don’t spread as quickly as Slayer has, for example. And that’s a damned shame because for decades we’ve bands like Exhumed that have undoubtedly put in the hard work as well as the time, but they deserve so much more. Exhumed is the epitome of a legendary band that isn’t given nearly enough credit, and with their upcoming monster of “Death Revenge”, that fact is only further cemented.

Without even having to here a single note, “Death Revenge” is a special album for Exhumed as it’s their first go at a concept album which is something that I almost always gravitate towards as I’m a big story guy. Following the horrifically true events that took place all the way back in the 1800s in a town in Scotland, “Death Revenge” tells of how some aspiring minds thought to go murder people to then sell the cadavers (and sometimes even through grave robbery) to scientists at the time to make a pretty penny. Quite the topic for such a name in extreme metal to tackle, no? To say that Exhumed met such a topic head-on and was wildly successive would be an egregious understatement. The proprietors of “gore metal” are back at it with “Death Revenge” and it couldn’t be anymore of a wild ride! Busting through twelve tracks of sheer intensity drenched in the gore of poor pedestrians, Exhumed does not disappoint with the record of pure destruction and bloody guts that truly knows how to hit home as not only a death metal album, but also the variety of gore metal that Exhumed has mastered over the years. From the enraging riffs to the overwhelming brutal approach to f**king everything to the undeniable intensity, “Death Revenge” is easily one of the goriest and most entertaining records that extreme metal has seen all year!

Exhumed had expectations high when they first announced “Death Revenge”, and it goes without saying that they f**king hit it right out of the park! Everything about this monster comes together ridiculously well to make an album that’s nigh on forgettable, and more than worthy to carry on the horrific name of Exhumed.

“Death Revenge” releases on October 13th via Relapse Records! You can pre-order the album via iTunes here, and stream advanced tracks on Bandcamp here.

Track Listing:

  1. Introduction: Death Revenge Overture
  2. Defenders of the Grave
  3. Lifeless
  4. Dead End
  5. Night Work
  6. Unspeakable
  7. Interlude: Grave-Makers of Edinburgh
  8. The Harrowing
  9. A Funeral Party
  10. The Anatomy Act of 1832
  11. Incarnadined Hands
  12. Death Revenge