Harakiri for the Sky – Arson

 If you’ve done even the laziest of browsing across the metal additions on Bandcamp in recent year, Harakiri for the Sky would be a very familiar name for you. They’ve made quite a name for themselves with their blend of black metal and atmospheric post-metal to create a sound that’s incredibly distinct and powerful to boot. Many would anticipate their fourth full-length to pack quite a punch, no? They would be spot-on correct because “Arson” is everything that fans of the band, as well as newcomers, can listen to and become drunk in its splendor.

Among the many reasons that people find themselves enthralled by Harakiri for the Sky, it has to be their blending of incredibly heavy lyrical themes that when combined with their style and aggression makes for an incredibly potent listen no matter which song you choose. I can see many people thinking they would change many things up with their upcoming piece, “Arson”, but it would seem that Harakiri is sticking with their very attractive formula that they clearly have an absolute understanding of that’s brought them great acclaim. Tracking in over an hour, “Arson” brings plenty of diversity amongst its seven tracks from the hypnotizing intro to the mesmerizing outro that is an absolute sensation to listen to as we’re given a real treat of what this band can dish out to accumulate into what’s ultimately a crisp record that’s sure to be many peoples’ favorite throughout the year. There aren’t many things that Harakiri doesn’t pull off with laser accuracy, which is the exact kind of thing that I’d expect from an act like this, to allow “Arson” to be an incredibly delicious album that’s destined to create a storm of praise and acclaim much like its predecessors.

I know that a great many people were looking forward to this record going into 2018 and I’m very happy to say that I can see every single one of those people falling in love “Arson” in its entirety. Harakiri for the Sky has done a fantastic job yet again, and I wouldn’t be surprised if this is still the tip of the iceberg with the two-year album cycle this band has made for themselves allowing for a biennial celebration of a new, crisp album to enjoy.

“Arson” releases on February 16th via Art of Propaganda! You can listen to advanced tracks from the album on Bandcamp here.

Track Listing:

  1. Fire, Walk With Me
  2. The Grave We Ve Dug
  3. You Are the Scars
  4. Heroin Waltz
  5. Tomb Omnia
  6. Stillborn
  7. Voidgazer
  8. Manifesto