LARS ULRICH Is ‘Pretty Sure’ ‘Hardwired…To Self-Destruct’ Sounds Like METALLICA


METALLICA drummer Lars Ulrich spoke to about the band’s upcoming album, “Hardwired…To Self-Destruct”, which is out on November 18.

On describing the new record, Lars says, “I don’t know if I have enough distance from it yet to really describe or explain it. Greg [Fidelman, producer] is back home mixing it as we speak. We’re mastering it starting on Monday. Here’s what I can tell you: I’m pretty [bleeping] sure it sounds like METALLICA. The songs are probably a little leaner and shorter than the last go-around, and slightly less progressive. They’re more one-dimensional, meaning each song really just has one individual mood instead of having many moods within one song. And I can tell you, it feels pretty damn good to have this new music and to be getting it out there.”

When asked about the long wait between albums and tours, Lars responded, “There’s just been a lot of other stuff going on. METALLICA has always been active. Since we started making ‘Death Magnetic’ [their last album], it’s coming up on 10 years of steadily working. The last time we took a break was after San Diego in 2004. We started up songwriting for ‘Death Magnetic’ in 2005, then we toured it for three years. We spent about a year on ‘Lulu,’ about two years on the ‘Through the Never’ movie and soundtrack. We’ve been playing all the great festivals around the world and hitting some really amazing places like China, Malaysia and Indonesia. Really, we haven’t sat still in almost 10 years.”

Produced by Greg Fidelman, along with James and Lars, this is their 11th studio album and is available for pre-order in a variety of configurations including 12 songs on a double CD, vinyl, digital download, as well as a deluxe version with the riffs that were the origins of the album. Everyone who pre-orders the album through will receive an instant download of the song “Hardwired.”

Hardwired…To Self-Destruct track listing:

Disc One

  1. Hardwired
  2. Atlas, Rise!
  3. Now That We’re Dead
  4. Moth Into Flame
  5. Am I Savage?
  6. Halo On Fire

Disc Two

  1. Confusion
  2. Dream No More
  3. ManUNkind
  4. Here Comes Revenge
  5. Murder One
  6. Spit Out The Bone

Disc Three (deluxe edition only)

  1. Lords Of Summer
  2. Riff Charge (Riff Origins)
  3. N.W.O.B.H.M. A.T.M. (Riff Origins)
  4. Tin Shot (Riff Origins)
  5. Plow (Riff Origins)
  6. Sawblade (Riff Origins)
  7. RIP (Riff Origins)
  8. Lima (Riff Origins)
  9. 91 (Riff Origins)
  10. MTO (Riff Origins)
  11. RL72 (Riff Origins)
  12. Frankenstein (Riff Origins)
  13. CHI (Riff Origins)
  14. X Dust (Riff Origins)