Lordi – Killection

Always surprising, always astonishing, therefore always outrageous. The first words that come to mind while talking about Lordi – or just Monster.

Lordi are the kind of band that either you love it, either you hate it due to their shocking way of making music and standing out of the crowd. Firmly rooted in a kind of music where the visual with all the costumes and things and the pirotecnics in the show are also very important, Lordi have made a very comfortable living taking this formula to the extreme. You add that to adding more and more electronic sounds to their music giving it almost an industrial Metal mood. Voilà, here you have a formula to success or to fail. Lordi managed to the first.

The most outstanding thing about “Killection” is to have created a story which goes under an invented radio program that airs among tracks. This radio program manages to be funny and also instructive. Its finest moment is the first intervention to open the album with amazing emulations of AC/DC, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, and Accept. There are also other emulations of Kiss and Gun N’ Roses throughout the album. The other great idea that comes into “Killection” is a big ‘What if’. What if Lordi were a 1970s band with fifty years of career. Yeah, that’s right, “Killection” is a ‘What if’ album with songs that would have been recorded by Lordi if they were in action in the 1970s. Genius, huh? Yeah, I’d say so if the outcome were not a bit disappointing musicwise. A Lordi’s fan expect tha band to be musically harsh, hard, cruel, and merciless. To make it simple a modern version of Kiss and Aerosmith. But “Killection” sounds more AOR than everything else giving concessions to saxophones, tuba, and other wind instruments that in my opinion don’t match. Of course, you may disagree. Maybe I’m too radical. In fact, “Apollyon” begins with those instruments to then get rough and wild with a very interesting chorus. The best moments of “Killection” is when Lordi do what they do best, I mean, to be the modern version of Kiss. First of all with “Blow My Fuse” with an “Alive I” taste that makes it remarkable, and then, with the delicious Lordi’s version to “I Was Made to Love You,” “Zombimbo.” Great deal! The bass lines are impossible not to recall it though the keyboards sometimes take you away from it. If the drums were a bit louder, the feeling would be greater. Pay attention to the bridge to the guitar solo. Does it remind you of anything you’ve heard before?

“Killection” goes in time crescendo from the 1970s until the 1990s. There are good times and bad times. The concept is great, but I guess Lordi missed the point. “Killection” could be heavier as many bands were in the 1970s. Ok, I said it. Still loving the band…

Lordi “Killection” will be released on January 31st via AFM Records.

Track Listing:

  1. Radio SCG 10
  2. Horror for Hire
  3. Shake the Baby Silent
  4. Like a Bee to the Honey
  5. Apollyon
  6. SCG10 The Last Hour
  7. Blow My Fuse
  8. I Dug a Hole in the Yard for You
  9. Zombimbo
  10. Up to No Good
  11. SCG10 Demonic Semitones
  12. Cutterfly
  13. Evil
  14. Scream Demon
  15. SCG10 I Am Here

Watch “Shake the Baby Silent” official music video here: