Magnum – Live at the Symphony Hall

I can’t help it hiding the special predilection I have for Magnum. Let’s say it was love for the first time, but it was a late love. I haven’t followed Magnum’s all steps since their rise in the 1980s. I discovered them a few years ago from the internet culture, the same one I blame for destroying parts of the music I love, but I’ve gotta agree, it’s made a lot for the small bands. Internet made possible a band like Magnum to rise again. Thanks to all the newcomers like me who discovered by the social media, downloading, or somehow by other means.

Magnum are a very important band to Metal regardless not having reached the peaks of fame and fortune. No one can whatsoever deny that Magnum were the pioneers at some features as, for instance, bringing up the melodic prog Metal that many worship nowadays. Some may regard Magnum as an Art Rock band, and maybe Magnum guys feel free to be labeled this way. I can’t blame them, it’s safer than being related to Metal and its unholy sin. But make no mistake, “Live at the Symphony Hall” proofs that anyone can make such an epic album the way heavy metallers love. Magnum doze perfectly melody and heaviness. Each track has its share of melody, epic elements, and pure heaviness. Magnum are too heavy to be Art Rock, but not to soft to be Metal. Let’s face it. That’s what great bands do. And Magnum are great even though the gods of fame fortune haven’t smiled to them.

“Live at the Symphony Hall” is a celebration to a great band that goes beyond labeling. Very few bands can travel so safe between those two styles. I’d say Pink Floyd, Rush and Marillion. Magnum master the art of creating good tunes, the ones you sing along without any prejudice or worry just because how good they are. Listen to “Without Love” for instance or to “Yours Dreams Don’t Die” and picture you and your affair getting touched by the warm and holding voice of Bob Catley. The hardest metalhead I know can’t take it. I bet.

Magnum “Live at the Symphony Hall” will be released on January 18th via Steamhammer/SPV Records.

Track Listing:


  1. When We Were Younger
  2. Sacred Blood ‘Divine’ Lies
  3. Lost on the Road to Eternity
  4. Crazy Old Mothers
  5. Without Love
  6. Your Dreams Won’t Die
  7. Peaches and Cream
  8. How Far Jerusalem


  1. Les Morts Dansant
  2. Show Me Your Hands
  3. All England’s Eyes
  4. Vigilante
  5. Don’t Wake the Lion (Too Old to Die Young)
  6. The Spirit
  7. When the World Comes Down

Watch official video here: