Night Laser – Call Me What You Want Review

Sometimes I just look at the name that is in the file I receive and I get curious about the music it contains herein. To me it’s about the same thrill it was when I looked at an album cover in some store. You look at the cover and try to imagine what kind of music there is in it. Show of hands who’s never. Well, the music was no surprise because what Night Laser deliver with “Call Me What You Want” is the good old Hard’n’Heavy with slants of the NWOBHM. Amen to that.

I praise “Call Me What You Want” because two tracks immediately called my attention. Both because they addressed a lot to the mighty Saxon, a band that I just love and brings back so many memories. They are “Don’t Call Me Hero” and “Laser Train.” The first due to its cadence and mood that addressed to “Power & The Glory” era. The other reminds the Boogie Metal Saxon used to do sometimes. Great times. Then, the gentle and sweet acoustic “Travelers in Time” with its violin did its magic. Show of hands who has never been thrilled by a ballad. Well, in terms of Hard’n’Heavy bands ballads were a mandatory item. Great intrumentals passing all the emotion a ballad needs with astonishing vocals by Benno Hankers. By the way, what a throat the guy has. “Captain Punishment” showcases it better. The guy is able to go from the highest pitch to the lowest notes. Guitar riffs are also great. Wait a minute, did I say no surprises? Yes, I did. So far. Then comes “Fiddler on the Roof,” another ballad, but this time a Folk Metal ballad (!?!). I wasn’t really expecting anything of the kind. Its modern instrumental wrapping did call my eye. These surprises are what makes “Call Me What You Want” so fine. I call it fantastic, if you get me right.

“Call Me What You Want” is the kind of album that may surprise even the diehard Metal fan. Don’t let the Hard’n’Heavy label fool you. The album is so much more. But so much more.

Night Laser “Call Me What You Want” will be released on May 24th via Steamhammer / SPV.

Track Listing:

  1. Bittersweet Dreams
  2. Way to the Thrill
  3. No More Changes
  4. Don’t Call Me Hero
  5. Law of the Vulture
  6. Laser Train
  7. Travelers in Time
  8. Captain Punishment
  9. Fiddler on the Roof
  10. Thin Ice (bonus track)
  11. Über-Alman (bonus track)

Watch official music video here: