PESTILENCE Unveil Drum Play-Through Video For Single ‘Morbvs Propagationem’

Pestilence 2021

The legendary prog death metal band will release its ninth installment titled  Exitivm on June 25th worldwide via Agonia Records. A new album, on a new label armed with a whole new line-up and a new dynamic: no matter what, PESTILENCE – or more specifically their maestro Patrizio Mameli – is like the phoenix, rising from the ashes, over and over again.

The band released a drum play-through video for the recently released single, Morbvs Propagationem“. Watch drummer Michiel van der Plicht play along the song, which will appear on the band’s new album, Exitivm, due for release on June 25th via Agonia Records. Make sure to check out the new drum play-through video below.

The band parted ways with drummer Septimiu Harsan last year due to personal and professional matters, partly related to the COVID-19 pandemic. The band found a replacement in Michiel van der Plicht who helped them record this new album.

The band continued. “We contacted Holland’s finest, Michiel van der Plicht, to record Exitivm for us. After hearing the raw demo’s he was very excited to say the least. Michiel, who is also the live drummer for CARACH ANGREN, is currently negotiating with them, about the possibilities of playing live for PESTILENCE as well. But for now we will focus on recording the album with him and see what happens in the future”.

Michiel van der Plicht commented: “I’m very proud to be playing on the upcoming PESTILENCE album. Be prepared!”.

As controversial as he can be to some, nobody will ever deny the band’s undisputable driving force, Patrizio Mameli, and his constant ability to reinvent himself. Unlike most of the bands in the scene, PESTILENCE just keeps evolving. From the raging thrash leanings of their cult 1988 debut Malleus Maleficarum to the jazz-infused versatility of 1993’s Spheres or 2009’s Resurrection Macabre frontal assault, not to mention the fans’ favorite and Scott Burns-produced Testimony Of The Ancients from 1991, he never did the same record twice. No matter who playes with him on any PESTILENCE album, Mameli always gets the best out of the musicians he is working with. But first and foremost, the man has a one-of-a-kind vision, instantly recognizable style and yet always stretching musical boundaries. And it’s never more true than on Exitivm.  

With the exception of the drums – tracked down by van der Plicht himself at his home studio – the album was recorded over a period of two months in between June and August 2020 at Pitchnote Productions. The album has been produced, like all PESTILENCE albums, by Mameli and is co produced, recorded, mixed and mastered by Jory Hogeveen (Shinigami and Ancient Rites). Last March, the band filmed their second ever official video – three decades after “Land Of Tears” – for the song “Morbvs Propagationem”Exitivm will be available in various formats, including supra-limited picture, pin-wheel, “firebreath” and clear vinyl versions. The cover artwork once again brought the band’s iconic sphere and was done by Michal “Xaay” Loranc, known for his various cover for NileGod Detheroned or Evocation and who had already worked on “Hadeon”.

Both a reinvention and a confirmation of everything the band has been standing for since 1986, thirty-five years later PESTILENCE are more than ever breaking new grounds and exploring the further outposts of the extreme metal sound on Exitivm.

Exitivm Tracklisting:
1. In Omnibvs (Intro)
2. Morbvs Propagationem
3. Deificvs
4. Sempiternvs
5. Internicionem
6. Mortifervm
7. Dominatvi Svbmissa
8. Pericvlvm Externvm
9. Inficiat
10. Exitivm
11. Immortvos
12. Personatvs Mortem (Outro)