The Shreddez – The Shreddez Review

Unfortunately, there is not so much information – it’s supposed to be a secret as it was created by some very well-known, anonymous metal musicians – of what I know about this project called The Shreddez which reunites the créme de la créme of today’s Metal guitars. “The Shreddez,” the self-tittled album gathers together the likes of Gary Holt (Slayer, Exodus), Brandon Ellis (Black Dahlia Murder), Alex Skolnick (Testament), Derrick Green (Sepultura), George Lynch (Dokken, Lynch Mob), Dan Lilker (Anthrax, Nuclear Assault), Taina Bergamaschi & Jessica DiFalchi (Crypta), Dave Davidson (Revocation) and Jessica Pimentel (Brujeria). Well, the thing is, an album with people like this has to be the ultimate shredding piece – no pun intended.

“The Shreddez” isn’t only a homage to Metal guitars. It’s also a tribute to Metal music in general. That’s the story album warmer “Origins” tells. A speech dedicated to this musical genre that we all love. The tittle of following track “Shredderz” says it all. Some may call megalomaniac. Some may even say it’s a flamboyant show off album of musicians who love to play guitar notes plus more guitar notes. From where I’m standing, “The Shreddez” is one of the best albums that popped up here this year so far. Of course, for the ones that like me love and appreciate a guitar shredding. Well, between you and me, who doesn’t?

The impression I get from listening to the album tells me The Shreddez intend to be a real band. Let’s say the intent of them is to be a kind of Metal only G3, a concert tour organized by guitarist Joe Satriani featuring him alongside two other guitarists. Since its inception in 1995, G3 have toured most years and has featured many guitarists.

The main inspiration for the album is 1980’s Power Metal and to some extent Thrash Metal. That’s what “The Shreddez” tells the fan. It’s Judas Priest “Painkiller” era is notable as it is in the following track “The Beast” which is a little slower and more cadenced. The faster drumming of “Stonedrider” doesn’t go from the aforementioned influence of Judas Priest. In fact, the only difference is the era. Maybe, just maybe, it would be from “Defenders of the Faith” era. Well, the hardest thing here is to choose from all of them to make a highlight. No, I won’t. I’ll just tell my dear child of the night to listen and enjoy this shredding monument to guitars and Metal music.

P.S.: Take a look at the dude’s T-shirt at the video. Would it be a homage to Judas Priest “Defenders of the Faith”?

The Shreddez “The Shreddez” will be self-released on August 04th.

Track Listing:

  1. Origins
  2. Shreddez
  3. The Beast
  4. Stonedrider
  5. Iron Storm
  6. Destiny Calling
  7. You Are the Devil
  8. Eye for an Eye
  9. Sins of the Valley
  10. Thunderpack
  11. Birth of the Wicked

Watch “Shredderz” official music video here: