AETHEREUS Finally Release Us From “Absentia”

Whereas many bands will start out strong only to fizzle and implode abruptly, it is often the group’s who labor at their craft for years that stay the course, slowly building towards their highest potential in due time. Such a path is exactly what Tacoma, Washington natives Aethereus have taken as musicians who have attained seasoned veteran status in the Northwest U.S. death metal scene through years of hard work that will soon culminate in their finest hour.

After releasing a stunning EP entitled “Ego Futurus” in 2015 that featured Oblivion/ex-The Zenith Passage drummer Luis Martinez, the group secured an influx of new members in 2016 starting with drummer Matt Behner (ex-Fully Consumed/ex-Year of Desolation) that would re-inspire the group to carry on after the untimely passing of longtime bassist Shaun Hansen. Vocalist Vance Bratcher and bassist Scott Hermanns of the highly praised Seattle symphonic death metal outfit The Devils of Loudon joined soon after, rounding out an already strong musical foundation set by founding guitarists Kyle Chapman and Benjamin Gassman who have been writing together since their early days in 2008 and onwards in their previous project known as Seker.

The Artisan Era is proud to announce the upcoming Friday, August 10th release of the band’s debut album, “Absentia. Right from the get-go, Sam Nelson’s (Allegaeon, First Fragment, Vale Of Pnath) ethereal cover artwork draws you into the richly textured and often beautiful world Aethereus creates musically on “Absentia. The group’s take on progressive death metal deftly combines elements of atmospheric death metal, ferocious technical death metal, and more overtly melodic death metal focused ends of the spectrum into a sound all their own. Aethereus cites influences ranging from Obscura, Spawn of Possession, Cynic, and Gorod which rightly shows in the ambitious and smartly crafted songs found on “Absentia.

Guitarist Kyle Chapman comments on the upcoming release of Absentia:

“Work on “Absentia started back in January of 2016 shortly after the release of “Ego Futurus.” Shaun and Kyle had already been working on mapping out new songs and developing potential lyrical concepts. However, because of Shaun’s untimely passing, the album became something completely different. It went from a sort of weird self-indulgent sci-fi story to be about depression and loss, becoming both a point of frustration and catharsis. “Absentia is loosely structured around the Kübler-Ross Five Stages of Grief (Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, and Acceptance). Musically, lyrically, and conceptually, the album follows the stages of grief and describes the experience of losing a loved one and the lasting impact that person’s absence has on an individual, a group, and life as a whole. It begins in a chaotic and bombastic manner, goes into some somber places, but ultimately ends on a somewhat hopeful note.”

Track Listing

  1. Cascades of Light
  2. Writhe
  3. Mortal Abrogation
  4. Fluorescent Halls of Decay (Ft. Brody Uttley of Rivers of Nihil)
  5. Absentia
  6. That Which is Left Behind
  7. The Black Circle
  8. With You, I Walk
  9. The Pale Beast


Vance Bratcher – Vocals  (The Devils of Loudon/Six Days of Darkness)

Kyle Chapman – Guitar/Vocals

Ben Gassman – Guitar

Scott Hermans – Bass  (The Devils of Loudon/ex-Blood and Thunder)

Matthew Behner – Drums  (ex-Fully Consumed/ex-Year of Desolation)

Additional album credits

Guest keys/synth/orchestration on “Writhe” and “Mortal Abrogation” by Vikram Shankar of Redemption and Lux Terminus

Guest solo on “Fluorescent Halls of Decay” by Brody Uttley of Rivers of Nihil

Tracks 1, 4, 5, and 8 written by Kyle Chapman

Tracks 2, 7, and 9 written by Kyle Chapman and Shaun Hansen

Track 3 written by Ben Gassman

Lyrics for tracks 1, 2, 4, and 9 written by Kyle Chapman

Lyrics for tracks 5 and 6 written by Vance Bratcher and Kyle Chapman

Read our review here.