Blacktown Band – One, Two and Three Men Review

I remember to have read somewhere that the music done in the 1960s and 1970s were so magnificent that it would be digested for years long. That’s the purest truth, I have to say. We’ve been receiving lots of albums proudly following the tones and sonancies of those decades. It’s amazing to see lots of yongsters who prefer the old-fashioned, but so human, way of making music than the plastic, and so mechanic and market driven, way of today. The new alternative is also the old.

The subject of today’s review, Blacktown Band, clearly explores the Hard Rock done in the first years of the 1970s decade with some slight touches of the 1960s which I observe to be via The Doors. There are touches of bands as Deep Purple and Uriah Heep via the keyboarding and Bad Company via guitars and vocals. The fan may see some Led Zeppelin as well via guitar phrasing and, maybe, some Black Sabbath. It’s interesting to note that the two covers herein “One, Two, Three Men” as it goes, The Rolling Stones’ “Spend the Night Together” and Pink Floyd’s “Hey You” show two influences that can’t be seen in the music. Maybe the band wanted to honor both bands. Though I guess Hard Rock bands owe a lot to The Rolling Stones. About the covers I have to say that “Spend the Night Together” is more loyal to the original than “Hey You” which the expectancy to the guitar solo is wisely broke. The fan that knows the original may get a bit disappointed, but that’s the way life is: a big disappointment.

I have to say that the music Blacktown Band delivered in “One, Two, Three Men” pleases me. As usual, opening track “You Really Need Me” has the best performance. Gluey chorus with a great perfomance of vocalist Nina Agudo doing a raspier voice steals the show. The mood created by the guitars and the keyboards take the fan to late 1960s via bands as The Doors. Title track “One, Two, Three Men” has a very heavy lead riff which is cooled down by the keyboards. By the way, this cooling down is a kind of trademark of the band and they do it very well. As aforementioned vocalist Nina Agudo contributes a lot to this mooding. “Dancing in the Moonlight” has a delicious non-intended Blondie taste via the musical wraping. The kind of song to do as the title says: to dance in the moonlight, if you like it.

“One, Two, Three Men” is a great album for the fans of the so-called Classic Hard Rock.

Blacktown Band “One, Two, Three Men” was released on December 18th via The Fish Factory.

Track Listing:

  1.  I Really Need You
  2. One, Two and Three Men
  3. Dancing in the Moonlinght
  4. Dangerous Sorrow
  5. The Box
  6. Living in My Room
  7. Let’s Spend the Night Together
  8. I Want to Find Out
  9. Hey You
  10. Green Dress

Watch “I Really Need You” official video here: