Boundary – Overdose Of Sin

Boundary Overdose of Sin Some people don’t believe when I say that the Metal machine keeps rolling. Step by step, and I mean it, bands are evolving and making Metal more likely to the times which are to come. As I always say, Metal is a historical musical movement, bands learn from bands that came first. So, today’s metal kid has learned from thousands of bands from Black Sabbath to Slipknot; from Deep Purple to Guns N’ Roses; from Kiss to Sandness, and goes on and on. It’s natural to a band to show these influences and much more.

That’s exactly what we have here with Boundary and “Overdose of Sin,” a pretty modern, exciting and updated Heavy Metal band. Musicwise, there are a lot of Guns N’ Roses and Mötley Crüe on Boundary, but also generous dashes of modern Metal and some sludge Metal. Mostly, generous dashes of Metallica’s “Black Album” era. The thing is that the guitars play in the old fashioned way using pentatonic scales, not only going up and down major scale to show off how licking I am. Vocals are gritty and full of rage, that counts a lot in a Metal band. It’s a pitty this so classical, and great way of singing is getting forgotten. Too bad. Boundary do a good use of it and stand out of the crowd.

All eleven songs are well built with good musical ideas. Some tracks, though, beyond all the influences I told before, feature the  very strong influence of the aforementioned Metallica “Black Album” era as in “Quit the Torment” with its whah guitar solos and angry vocals. Therefore, never forget the leading path the bass takes in some songs as well. Basses lines are great to add an incredible heavy sonance to songs. “Resurrection” is a track that reminds us what a riffing powerhouse is still out there to discover. Boundary do that too for us. Again.

Well, my child of the night, “Overdose of Sin” is an album to make you remind the good old days, but not to feel sorry they’re gone. They have never been gone. They are alive and great in bands like Boundary that are keeping the flame high and proud. If I may, go right to “Wasting Time” and have lots of fun.

Boundary “Overdose of Sin” will be released on January 18th.

Track Listing:

  1. First Line
  2. Better Off Dead
  3. City Of Madness
  4. The Curse
  5. Overdose Of Sin
  6. War
  7. Break The Wall
  8. Quit The Torment
  9. Resurrection
  10. L.N.D.A.
  11. Wasting Time

Watch “Overdose of Sin” official video here: