Dark Rites – Welcome to Eternity

It was a late tradition from the LP era that the first track should be the one which drives the most attention. Kind of an invitation card to what the band had best. Dark Rites kick “Welcome to Eternity” off with the pungent “Ants” with a very catchy and effective guitar riff. Catchy guitar riffs are the motto to “Welcome to Eternity.” Neat guitar work.

“Welcome to Eternity” is an album tending to Melodic Death Metal. I say tending because I’m really puzzled on how to label it. Vocals are pretty Death Metal, but the neat and very traditional Metal guitar work and instrumentals give me a question mark. Dark Rites did an amazing job in “Welcome to Eternity” which very linear songwriting gives us the best of impression. I said I’m puzzled because tracks as “Lying” are very crunchy and very near Thrash Metal with groovy instrumentals. It reminds the great Pantera a lot. And then comes the next track “Marionette” with a catchy – as I said before – guitar riff that gets all the attention. “Welcome to Eternity” is an album of great guitar riffing. Well, I said that more than once. But it’s okay, Dark Rites deserve it just to remember that there people that say guitar driven music is dead – go see it.

Not only guitars, but also the drums are a highlight in “Welcome to Eternity,” especially in “No Longer Moving Forward” with a great double bass line. There are twelve tracks that deal very well with emotions related to Metal world. You can feel a bit of anger, despair, and even some joy. The joy of listening to such a competent band with an amazing and well-played album.

Dark Rites “Welcome to Eternity” was self-released in 2018.

Track Listing:

  1. Ants
  2. Broken and Torn
  3. Circus
  4. Fist Through the Wall
  5. Lying
  6. Marionette
  7. No Longer Moving Forward
  8. Outcast
  9. Reborn
  10. Soar Alba Gu Brath
  11. Starving for Violence
  12. Welcome to Eternity

Watch “Welcome to Eternity” official video here:

Sign up to receive all latest news and updates from Metal Addicts straight into your inbox!