Deathstorm – Reaping What is Left

It’s funny how waves come and go. Last year we received here lots, but lots of death metal, and its variations, bands. Lots of black and doom metal too. This year, though, is the year of NWOBHM and thrash bands. Am I complaining? No, not at all. Just breaking the ice. This change is healthy, the way I see it.

Deathstorm “Reaping What is Left” is a pretty good piece of what it is called today deaththrash. I’d call it “even angrier thrash.” The way I see it, Deathstorm “Reaping What is Left” is a bit faster than regular thrash efforts. Vocalist is on the limit of being gutural. Back then, in the 1980s, it was the natural step to bands that wanted to sound angrier, and faster. As thrash metal bands evolved, they got distanced from hardcore. They got more Metal. That’s the difference between regular thrash metal bands and deaththrash ones. Also, political themes were changed by religious ones. Slayer are the best example I can recall. But Deathstorm  aren’t only that. In “G.R.L,” for instance, they try some dissonant chords over the song. It sounds pretty good.

Fast, furious, and even angrier, and why not traditional, those are the words that can summon up Deathstorm. In terms of technique, Deathstorm also try  some new musical solutions as in “G.R.L,” quoted before. but not only, “Dying Insane” has a pretty insane riff with some intricated guitar and drums parts combined a punkish vocal. Yeah, Deathstorm didn’t leave punk influences behind after all. As a non-written tradition, intro “The Reaping” is pretty deceptive. I guess Metallica started that with the intro of “Fight Fire With Fire.” It starts smoothly in as a very different proposal to then burst into a violent song.

Deathstorm “Reaping What is Left” will burn the house down on May 25th via High Roller Records.

Track Listing:

  1. The Reaping
  2. Agent Of Dismay
  3. Predatory Kill
  4. Ossuary Darkness
  5. Hallowed Ground
  6. By Sword, By Pick, By Axe
  7. Unholy Lamentations
  8. G.R.L.
  9. Dying Insane

Watch “G.R.L” official video here: